Wicked Commentary

I had a bad car wreck last Thursday.  I was headed to my primary care doctor when I felt my car slip on something, (don’t know what) and I spun out of control. I can’t recall all that happened but I felt like my car was spinning in the air.
 
I then awoke trapped up against the driver side with no way to get out and hurting all over.  I had no way to get out of the car. My car was facing a ditch. All the windows were broken and I had glass all over me. I actually had no idea where I was and I was in shock.
 
Paramedics arrived and were trying to figure out how to get me out. They finally did but it was really hard, dragging me up from the place I was in and out through the passenger door. I had to be taken via helicopter to UK’s trauma center. Before they could drag me out they had to put me in a neck brace and something around the top of my head. It was actually some darn good work by the paramedics. They were wonderful to me trying to keep me calm while trying to get me out. There was no place for them to use the jaws of life to get my driver door open.
I had a huge hematoma on the left side of my head (where the paramedics told me my car’s top had rested on my head.  They ran me through all kinds of scans and I also had a broken clavicle. The paramedics told me they don’t know how I survived the crash.
I also have the worst looking left eye it being completely red spreading up my head and into the side of my head to where the hematoma is. My eye was almost completely shut for days it was so swollen up.
 
Apparently during the crash I cut an electric pole in half.  The car is totaled but that’s small potatoes considering I survived and had few injuries. They told me God must have wanted me to say alive for some reason.
I was in hospital for 4 days when they sent me home.  (Medicare makes sure you get kicked out ASAP since Obama gives hospitals bonuses for kicking out seniors as soon as they can).
 
So I am home now, but I can’t be on the computer for long because of my injury and how bad it hurts to be typing. But wanted you all to know why I’m not coming to read your articles right now. I’m sorry for neglecting you all.
I have to see my primary doc for follow up to keep getting scans on my head checking the hematoma for bleeds. And an ortho doc for the broken clavicle.  I’m on heavy doses of Percocet for the pain I’m in.
 
I ask for your prayers and would very much appreciate them at this time.

Dave the Rave drove up to my house to get Merlin to my vet to be boarded since I had no idea when I’d be back home. Thank God for Dave. And poor Merlin stayed in his crate for over 24 hours without urinating or pooping. He is such a great dog. Dave drove up again yesterday to get Merlin back home for me and get meds for me. 

Dave is a wonderful friend. Every time he had to drive up to my house he had to drive for about 1.5 hours to get here and then back to his house in Lexington.

 

Anyway that’s a short synopsis of what happened to me. First car crash I’ve ever had and it was so scary I hope to not experience anything like it again.

Since I am home now, I woke up two nights ago with bad pain in my chest going around my back. I figured that must have been bad bruising from my seat belt, which thankfully I was wearing.
I do know one thing, I’m very thankful to be alive.And I thank Jesus for being at the wheel with me.
 

 

Pepp

 

Comments on: "I Took A Flying Trip In My Car" (64)

  1. Pep.. I was thinking about you and was wondering how I haven’t seen for a while..
    thank god you are alive on the road to recovery..
    Please take your time getting better..
    Missing you..
    but praying for you full recovery..

    Thanks for taking the time to tell us..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry to hear this Pat, but thanking God that you are still alive to tell us..sounds like it could have been much worse..Just take it easy and post when you feel better. Hugs, Love and Prayers..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donna, thank you for your love, hugs, and prayers. It could have been so much worse as the paramedics told me. I will be taking it very easy right now since there isn’t much I can really do. I’m not allowed to lift anything for one thing. And it hurts like hell if I try. So I’m resting a lot.

      Like

  3. Patty….I knew something was wrong. So glad you are alive. Glad Merlin is with you. You friend Dave, is just an angel walking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bobby, I figured you wondered where I was. I too am glad I’m still alive. Yes Merlin is such a joy and comfort to have with me. And you are right about Dave. He is an angel.

      Like

  4. Jodie.V's.Pearls said:

    Oh my! So very glad you are well my friend. My thoughts and prayers are with you. May you have a speedy recovery and know we are all thinking of during this time! Love & Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jodie, I’m glad too that I lived though it. I did think I was going to die. Thanks for your thoughts and prayers. I need them right now. I hope this recovery doesn’t take too long.
      Hugs and love to you too my friend Jodie!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Since we have already communicated, I’ll just let you know again that our prayers & thoughts are with you.

    p.s. That chest pain & bruising could also be from your air bag. Mine banged me up pretty good once.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Terry, thank you so much for all you do. And for posting this at your blog so your readers could know too.

      The air bag did not go off. I don’t think it is even there anymore. It was an old used car and for some reason it didn’t work.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pepper, God was in control

    Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am so sorry to hear that. Glad you are doing better.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Peppermint…take every day as it comes along don’t push yourself do as you can not what you must

    ✨✨✨✨✨✨✨prayers✨✨✨✨✨✨✨candles✨✨✨✨✨✨✨smiles✨✨✨✨✨✨✨❤✨✨✨✨✨✨✨thoughts✨✨✨✨✨✨✨wishes✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

    BE WELL…WE MISS YOU AROUND HERE

    Liked by 1 person

    • hocuspocus, thanks for the good advice.I’m trying real hard to not push myself as I am apt to do.

      Thanks for prayers, candles, smiles, thoughts and wishes.

      i miss you too!

      Like

  9. You should try really hard to never do that again. Praying for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Really happy you are ok. As I get older and heal more slowly, I am less and less comfortable in vehicles that do not resemble tanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drrik thank you very much. I too get more freaked out the older I get. Funny that’s how i felt too, without being in a tank I don’t feel safe either.

      Like

  11. Dear Pepp:
    So sorry to hear all this accident business. I was wondering what happened to you.
    I am so happy you are still here with your fans.
    OUR BIG GUY UP TOP HAD HIS HANDS IN THIS FOR SURE.
    I hope you recover better than ever and soon. WE MISS YOU!
    GOD BLESS YOU!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aaah, thank you. I’m glad I’m still too with the wonderful readers I have. And so much caring from everyone. it’s so nice. Yes the BIG Guy was with me all the way. I’m so thankful for that.

      I miss you all too. And thanks so much for commenting. I sure do appreciate it.

      Like

  12. It’s a terrible thing to have an accident like that, but a good thing it wasn’t even worse. You know I’ll keep praying. Thanks to Dave for getting you back and going back and forth. I guess it will take some time to heal. Good to see you back able to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bull, yes it is wonderful it was not worse and you know that better than anyone. I know you’ll keep praying and entertaining me through our calls as usual.

      It will take time to heal. I’m only back for now just to let my readers where i am. Doubt I’ll do much writing for awhile. I miss not writing but it’s kind of hard right now while in this pain.

      hope we talk soon. i miss you.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Sure glad you are home and on the road to recovery. Praise the Lord. Take your time to get well and do not push it. Set backs are no fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pepp, as I posted at N&F on Terry’s piece, you sure did dodge a bullet. Prayers continue to head your way from Virginia.

    Any idea what caused the crash? Lefty deer? Crappy tires made by a lefty? Lefty oil slick? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Nox, yes I saw your comment on Terry’s article about this.

      TY so much for your prayers and keep it up. I feel I need them a lot.

      You know i told you I thought I hit black ice, but who knows maybe it was a lefty oil slick. it would be like them. 😀

      Like

  15. Good grief–I knew there must be a reason we hadn’t heard from you, but decided that was the mom in me. Always worrying. I am so glad to hear you are on the way to recovery. Not to put pressure on you, but you do realize how we-all rely upon your commentary.

    Just sayin’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jacqui, yeah before I had this wreck I was sick with some kind of flu like bug that really kept me down. Then I got over it only for it to return. So, along with that and then this wreck I’ve been kind of spotty about being online.

      Aw you’re so sweet to worry about me. I know having been a Mom too, we always worry about our family and our friends.

      Thanks you Jacqui that you rely on me for commentary. I’m so flattered. I hope to get back to being around more often here and there depending on how I’m feeling.

      Like

  16. Pepp I’m just thrilled you weren’t hurt any worse and that you’re on the mend. I was glad to do what I could to help.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Dave, the man of the hour! I know you were so glad I’m still here. And I’m on the mend. I did read today that the clavicle recovery takes months. Oh joy! I know you do what you can to help me out and I can’t say enough for your blessed friendship.

      Like

  17. Fireheart said:

    God was with you and I’m so glad take care

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fireheart, indeed God was with me that’s for sure. Thank you and I will be taking care with tons of rest and hopefully this pain will abate at some point.

      Like

  18. OMG Pepp!!
    I’m just glad to hear that you survived that accident. It’s a true miracle! Please take care of yourself and praying that you will have a speedy recovery! – HHS

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi HHS, yeah it was an OMG event. And yeah that’s what the paramedics said that it was a miracle I survived it. I’m not sure I’m really over the entire shock of it just yet.

      Thanks so much for your prayers. I really do appreciate them.

      Like

  19. Hi Pepp,
    I was so sorry to hear about your accident. Thank God you were not killed. You were very lucky, you are in our prayers for a speedy recovery. In the mean time take it as easy as you can and get plenty of rest and take time to heal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Dogged have not seen you in ages. So glad to hear from you.

      And thanks so much for your prayers. I feel I need them right now. Indeed thanks to God i was not killed.

      Like

  20. Just getting around to reading your post now PM, and extremely sorry to hear this bad news, but also happy that you come out of it better than the accident indicates, that is one bad accident my Friend, you will be sore for quite some time I think, I send you prayers for a quick recovery without any lasting effects, not exactly the best start to the festive season, but still wish you a beautiful Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Yikes! Scary stuff, Pepp and I never want to read that again. Glad you’re going to be OK, but I’m sorry you have to go through yet more pain and suffering. Life can be unfair, but it’s good to know you have such good friends. God Bless and Merry Christmas (we can say that now; we have a new President!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Merry Christmas Paulie. That’s right, we can say it now and I hope that never changes again.

      Yes life is unfair but that’s life right? Life’s a bitch and then we die. 🙂

      I hope to never have that accident experience again either. It was horrible. Yes it is nice to have such good friends who wish me well and than you for coming by.

      Like

  22. Ralph DiMare said:

    Glad to hear that you are OK after that scary sounding accident. Get well soon and stay strong!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ralph. Glad to meet you and come back again once I’m up to writing.

      Thank you for your kind words and I hope I get well soon too. It’s been almost 2 weeks and it feels like a nightmare.

      Like

  23. So sorry to hear of your accident. Best wishes and prayers for a speedy recovery

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville, thank you for your kind wishes and prayers. I need the prayers still. I’m coming up with more pains that weren’t there right after the accident. It’s so scary to say the least.

      Like

  24. Pepper,haven’t heard from you, I pray you are doing Okay

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Walt. it’s so nice for you to check on me. I’m doing OK, but still have pain in my neck and collar bone. Sometimes it feels like someone is stabbing me in the neck and jaw area.

      So I’ve not written anything obviously. I hope to get back soon. Right now I just feel so overwhelmed with it all.

      I seem to need a lot of sleep to heal I guess. When I think about the whole thing, it was such a traumatic event with my whole left side bashed and bruised. I spend a lot of time at my doctor’s. Right now I think they are done testing me. They had to do a whole head MRI to make sure I didn’t have a subdural bleed. And I think I’ll need to get another one in a couple of months.

      I hope you are doing well and had a great Christmas and New Year. Thanks so much for asking about me Walt. Bless you.

      Like

  25. Hi Pepper so good to hear from you and please know I am keeping you in my prayers for a speedy recovery. The new year got started off bad, my wife almost died, Thanks be to God she recovered.
    GOD IS IN CONTROL!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Walt,

      Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry to hear about your wife. What a scare that must have been. I’m so glad to hear she lived and recovered. You must have been frantic when that happened.

      Yes God is in control. And thanks for keeping me in your prayers. I’m doing better each day.

      Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

