Wicked Commentary

Gone, But Still Here

I’ve been gone for awhile because I broke my right foot in 3 places.  I fell down my daughter in law’s steps while staying there to visit and have fun with my grand kids.

My stay was short, only 2. 5 days when Peggy and I decided it was best for me to go back home.  Needless to say, I and my grand children were so disappointed.

When I got back home, I was in a mess. I could barely get around and I had to take care of Merlin and Zima. I hobbled around for 2 weeks until Cindy brought me a boot that she had from breaking her big toe.  I was in a lot of pain the first 3 weeks.

I’m getting around much better but found out Wednesday that the long bone going from my little toe down the side of that side of my foot is not healing right and there is a big gap where the bone needs to come together.

Next Wednesday I see the bone doctor.  I may have to have surgery done on the foot pinning the bone.  Or that doctor might start off with a bone stimulator which I’ve never heard about until now. It depends on what the bone doc sees.

I’m not happy at all to think of being laid up all over again. For the first 3 weeks after I broke my foot I was pretty much laid up in bed, keeping my foot elevated and iced down to bring the swelling down. Most of the swelling is gone except for the place the bone has not come together.

This is just to let people who follow me where I’ve been and what went on.

I miss everyone who comes here and hope I don’t need the surgery, but if I do then there is nothing I can do about it. I’ll be laid up again and drugged up once again on Percocet to relieve the pain. I hate to think of going through so much pain again.

I guess it could always be worse.

Pepp

 

 

Comments on: "Gone, But Still Here" (46)

  1. My prayers are with you Pepper for speedy recovery.

    Like

  2. Look at it this way: you’re one step closer to realizing some good fortune. Lord knows you deserve it. Keep the faith; you’ll be OK.

    Like

  3. Good God, woman, WHEN will this shit end for you ? So sorry to hear about this. Best wishes for a speedy recovery. YOU are missed in the fight more than you know.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      clyde,

      I don’t know when this shit will end. It seems forever and Ron’s death anniversary was 1 yr. on Saturday. Can’t believe a whole yr went by so soon and so roughly. LOL! TY. Thanks for telling me I’m missed.

      Like

  4. Donna Rabus said:

    Pat, I have been wondering and thinking about you. Now I know. So sorry about your fall. Do you have anyone who’s been staying with you to help you? I don’t know how you could be there alone and take care of your pets and yourself. I am saying a prayer for you…

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Donna,

      No I’ve had no one to help me. It was pretty rough the first 3 wks. getting Merlin in and out, feeding him and myself. I used crutches, a walker, and then that boot after Cindy lent it to me. I barely ate the first couple of weeks. Too hard to get food with crutches.

      Cindy did my grocery shopping thank God. I couldn’t drive of course. And the Licking Valley Medical Van took me to doctor appts. That is all they do, no other shopping etc.

      I’m hoping for the bone stimulator and not surgery. I’m praying that will do it. If surgery I’ll deal with that if/when I have to. Haven’t figured that one out yet. TY for prayers.

      Like

  5. Sometimes I think if you didn’t have bad luck, you wouldn’t have any luck at all!
    My Love and Prayers are with you, Pepper. Just wish I lived close enough to help.
    Please keep us posted on that foot. A Bummer, for more reasons than one~!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Grouchy,

      Right, it seems that way. TY for your love and prayers. I need them again and again.

      Will keep all posted when I find out more after I see the bone doctor.

      Like

      • Good to hear, Pepper My Friend. You know I have a weird sense of humor, right?
        Well, I hope that the bone does grow together properly, and they don’t have to “Bridge the gap”. It will be hell having to buy two pairs of shoes, because the one foot is longer than the other!
        SO, there will be positives coming out of this,,, Just you wait and see~!
        HUGZ

        Like

        • peppermintfarm said:

          Oh no, I never thought about that one, 2 different sizes of shoes. Ugh! Well you do have an interesting sense of humor. But I love humor. HUGS

          Like

  6. willibeaux said:

    Yo Pepp! Never rains but it pours. Me and the Missus are so sorry to hear about your latest setback and will keep you uplifted in prayer.

    Hang in there gal!!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Willibeaux,

      TY for prayers. It seems so much happens. I don’t get it. I’d like to have some time without a mess going on here.

      That’s all I can do but hang in there. I ask God for His strength every day to help me figure out what to do next.

      Like

  7. Pepp, thanks for the update. 3 places. Well, the pain is understandable. Extra special prayers for you now. Heal that thing… and I hope the dr visit goes well one way or another. Words don’t help I know but thinking about you. Hopefully it is days not weeks now.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Bull,

      Yeah, the pain. Argh! TY for prayers. And words do help Bull. It’s so nice to have so much support from blogging buddies and friends. I just hope the bone stimulator will heal the gap up so I don’t have to have surgery. I would dread another surgery again.

      Like

  8. So glad to hear that you’re alive and kicking (though only with one foot now). I’m truly sorry to hear of your accident, especially cutting your visit short – that’s probably almost as bad as breaking your foot – having to leave your grandkids early. You know that we all miss you and keep you in our prayers. Keep a stiff upper. I’ve got a feeling that God is thinking that “she’s had enough” and will send down some blessings soon.

    Keep yourself well (and Merlin and Zima) and know that you have a lot of friends out here who are praying for you.
    G92

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      G,

      Yeah it’s hard to kick with my right foot. LOL! Right, cutting off my visit with my grand kids was the worst. Such a disappointment and I was kicking myself with my left foot in the butt. I just don’t even know how it happened. It happened so quickly.

      I hope God is done punishing me. I’ve had enough too I think.

      TY. Yes it’s nice to know I have friends who are praying for me. That’s a blessing in itself.

      Like

  9. Hello again Pepper, when you have a moment, read this

    http://www.holylandmoments.org/devotionals/be-still

    Like

  10. Good grief, Pepp. I’ve been wondering what you’ve been up to. Rumor had it that you were on an extended cruise through Alaska when global warming melted so many glaciers that they avalanched down the sides of mountains and caused a tidal wave that capsized your ship and left you stranded on an ice floe with the last remaining polar bear for company.

    Clyde has been busy pairing up with Al Gore to launch an extensive search for you.
    So I’m relieved to find out that it’s only a broken foot, and you are safe at home
    Clyde’s happy too. He REALLY didn’t want to go on a trip with Al. They tend to fuss a bit.

    TIP: pain killers + a laptop = great blog posts.

    Seriously, God Bless You. I’m sorry to hear about your latest ordeal. We all Love and Miss You, and send you our prayers for a speedy recovery.
    But ya gotta admit, it’s better than being stuck on an ice floe with a polar bear ! 😀

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Terry, LMAO! That story has me cracking up.

      And yeah, actually I was stuck on an ice floe with a polar bear. She fished and fed me good food. We drifted around for a long time while she kept me warm. It’s a myth that they are so dangerous. We were great pals until we finally reached a shore back to Alaska. I’m so glad clyde didn’t take that trip with Al. First the Goron would have been shocked to see all the new ice that is coming our way. Not to mention the surprise that polar bears love floating on those ice piles. Me and Polly, the Bear had such as good time together. It was one of the most adventuresome trips I’ve ever experienced.

      Goron would have been shocked also at how the polar bears are flourishing. Thank God I was on an ice floe with a female.

      So I just really made up that story about the broken foot because I didn’t think anyone would believe my fantastic voyage. But, now it’s out.

      I really got the broken foot when I tried to step ashore and slipped on the ice that is growing so huge it’s unbelievable. I’m glad you all miss me and love me. It’s good to be back among humans although I sure did love and miss Polly. 😀

      Like

      • I knew it ! I was starting to doubt the reliability of my sources. Thanks for coming clean.
        I’m glad you and Polly had a nice time. It’s very fortunate you were with a nice, white, Polar bear and not some street thug black bear screaming “No Just-ice, No Piece of fish”.!

        I do hope you and Polly took some Polar-oid pictures of your adventure.

        Like

        • peppermintfarm said:

          Terry,

          Yep, u guessed right. Your sources were good.

          LOL! Yes, I’m glad I wasn’t with a big, black bear either. It was nice to NOT hear that crap while I was vacationing with Polly. Actually Polly was a rt wing bear and she bad mouthed the Goron while we floated on the ice.

          I’ll see if I can get some pics up of Polly sometime soon.

          Like

  11. Bob Roller said:

    Of all the things to happen,a busted foot.It ought to heal OK if you’re not diabetic.Anyhow,we are glad you are back on line and don’t forget to silicone spray the rubber moulding weather seals on that nice Buick you showed us the last time around.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Bob,

      No, I’m not a diabetic thank God for that. Oh, yeah. TY for reminding me about the silicone. I do need to do that. It worked so well on the jeep last year. Thanks so much for your continuing advice.

      Like

  12. Well, I came over here some weeks back to check on you and that was about the time you were getting ready to go to your daughters, so I thought, ah, no problem, she’s just busy with family and I sure don’t blame her for taking advantage of the time.

    Then you didn’t come back….and you didn’t come back….still not back…so I’m thinkin’ she got raptured without us! We’ll never hear from her again…I wonder what it’s like to be raptured…. 🙂

    Then I find out this! Dang, girl, of all the rotten luck. I hate this for you! It’s a huge (& painful) nuisance that totally changes your routine and your thinking. Instead of making multiple trips across the house for various reasons, you learn to combine things and make one trip. And just about the time you get back to your comfy chair, thinking ya did good and thought of everything, now ya gotta go pee. … sigh…dammit.

    Crutches are great (if you don’t fall and break your nose) but you can’t carry anything in your hands. Wheelchair helps some, but can’t maneuver all the doorways. A rolling office chair will fit through them, but then it wears out your good leg pedaling the dang thing.

    When you’re not supposed to put weight on it, then you can’t take a shower because you can’t balance on one leg, so it’s time to figure out how to take a bath with one leg hanging over the side of the tub. (Don’t bump the toilet – it hurts like hell) And did you remember to grab a towel before you got in?…..sigh..dammit.

    Thankfully, it’s the left foot so you can still drive to work, where you have a wheelchair & crutches waiting for you…next to the ladies’ room, of course. But the real boogar-roo is gettin’ up and down the stairs to your apartment….in the rain…which makes you need to pee…sigh…dammit.

    Yep, true story! Now that you’re all cheered up (not) I hope & pray it all goes well and goes fast for you. Hugs!

    Like

    • Damn Kathy…Makes being stuck on an ice floe with a bear sound like it would be more fun. 😦

      Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Kathy,

      LMAO!! TY so much for all the laughs. Everything you said is true. I never thought about wheeling the office chair though. I’ll have to try that one if I have surgery. I hope no surgery.
      As far as getting into the shower with a broken leg or foot, (I’ve done both), forget about it! U wash up in the sink sitting on a chair. LOL! Not good like a shower, but u do get some sense of cleanliness.

      Oh, and if u have a hip replacement forget about a shower for 2 weeks at least. There is just no way to do it.

      Like

      • My pleasure. We have to find the humor somewhere, and in that situation it seems to be magnified. Sometimes I think God is sittin’ up there sayin’ “Watch this” and LHAO. At least it’s all temporary…especially the sink baths…which is what it turned into after the tub experience. 🙂

        Like

        • peppermintfarm said:

          Kathy,

          Now like you I’m still wondering what it means to be “raptured”. LOL! 🙂 You’ll have to tell me more about that one.

          Yeah, I think you’re right about God. Humor does help so much and I’ve certainly appreciated it from you guys from HNF.

          Oh Lord no, no tub bath. I can’t even imagine how anyone could get in or out of that situation. i think you’d have to have some kind of hoist for that.

          Like

      • HEY, Ladies,,, Don’t forget the Huggies and the other Hand Wipes,,, They work quite well,, in an emergency,,, Just don’t try to flush them~!,,, I’m saying that for folks on Septic Systems.

        Like

        • I don’t know about the Huggies. It ‘Depends’. 😀
          Oh I just kill myself sometimes !

          Like

          • peppermintfarm said:

            Grouchy,

            Huggies? Aren’t they for babies? Do they actually have a size for adults? I don’t think I could do with the Huggies, lying in my own pee. Yuck. Oh, I do have a septic system and I know you can’t put anything big down the toilet including a big you know what. Now that wasn’t me, that was Ron when he was alive. And no he can’t talk back now so that’s the way it’s being told.

            Like

          • peppermintfarm said:

            Terry, “it Depends”. You are a hoot. I crack myself up sometimes too. 😀

            Like

  13. Bob Roller said:

    Question about that pretty white cat.Many white cats are deaf as a stone.Is this one? We had two of them,strays in our yard for a while and we always feed whatever is out there.
    They ate and moved on and ignored me when I called to them as they left.I would have made them a home here if they had stopped.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Bob,

      No I don’t think Zima is deaf. But I heard also that white cats are deaf. She will come running up to the house when I call her when she’s out.

      Zima was a stray too who appeared one night on our porch. She had to be only about 2 mos old. She was so tiny. Ron took her in and that was that. She is real cuddly. Just love her.

      Like

  14. Crap… if it weren’t for bad luck you wouldn’t have any luck at all.

    Sorry to hear of your woes but like you said it could be worse. Attitude is everything.

    My prayers are on the way.

    Good to hear from you.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      TY HN. I appreciate the prayers. I’m trying to keep a positive attitude hoping I will only need the bone stimulator.

      Like

  15. Pepp, your excellent articles are so missed but I’m so blessed we get to talk several times a week on the phone. As every challenge you’ve faced; I have no doubt you will again persevere. Be well my dearest friend.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Thanks Dave. Yes you are my dearest friend and supporter. I’m so glad we can talk over the phone so this is not news to you of course. Oh, yeah, I’ll get through this like I do everything else. I have no option to do anything else really.

      Like

  16. Hope that you’re taking vitamin D and calcium routinely.
    So with the foot up in the air you should be able to type more.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      drrik,

      Oh, yeah, I take 50,000 units of Vit D a week prescribed by my doc a long time ago and I do get plenty of calcium. Yep, I do have to keep the foot up or booted. Now that I’m not been in so much pain I can get online more now. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  17. There is definately a great deal to learn about this issue.
    I really like all the points you have made.

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

