Wicked Commentary

Yesterday I received a call from my Daughter in law, Peggy.  I am going there soon to spend a week with them and my Grand children, Anna and John. I am so excited to see them all and this is like a little vacation for me and Merlin.

He gets to go too because he and their two dogs, Sarah and Bailey, love to play together and have a blast.

Anyway, I thought Peggy was calling about this upcoming visit and she told me she had a question she needed to ask me.

What came next put me into shock and I could barely speak.

Peggy asked me if I wanted a different vehicle.  Her husband, Chris’s Mother was going to trade in her car and get a new one.  But, Peggy and Chris wanted to know if I wanted the car before the trade in. They would pay for the car for me.

My jaw dropped. 

Here is the car and the description.

1999 Buick Century
Light blue interior
Oil changed today
Front tires good. Back tires fair
Air conditioning works we think
Power windows and locks

Buick from Peggy and ChrisChris’s Mother has been the only owner and she kept the car up nice.

All I could do is keep thanking Peggy and Chris for this unexpected gift. I was overwhelmed continuing to be almost speechless and what was coming out of mouth was gibberish. 

The thought of using less gas, not burning up in my black jeep with no air conditioning  and freezing in the winter with no heat in it was unbelievable to me.

While I am there they will help me get the car titled in my name and license plates since it is not much of a drive to get to Northern KY, right across the Ohio river so I can drive it home.

And with this car I can come up to my daughter in law’s house without her having to come down to get me and take me back home.  I can go visit my brother and spend holidays with them.  I can also visit much missed good friends in Ohio.

After we got off the phone, I was shaking all over. Why I don’t know but shake I did. It was time to feed Merlin and I was all butter fingers. I dropped his kibble all over the floor out of the bowl. Then when I added food out of a can for him, I dropped that too and that splattered everywhere.  Needless to say I had a lot to clean up off my kitchen floor.

Dave tells me it’s a blessing from God.  I can even go visit him now since he is only about 70 miles from me in Lexington.

I don’t know yet what I’ll do with the jeep. I think I’ll keep it for the time being  since it has 4-W drive. I have become attached to that bucking bronco. 

As Scarlett said to Rhett in Gone With the Wind:  “I can’t think about that now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Comments on: "Yesterday I Got a Wonderful Blessing" (32)

  1. God answers needs in the most marvelous of ways. I am so happy for you, Pepper~! Just so super awesome~!
    And Blessings to Chris and Peggy, as well~! The trade in value is much less than the Kelly Blue Book, I’m sure, so you’re getting a whale of a deal~!
    HOT DIGGITY DOGGIES~! For PepperHawk~!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Thank you Grouchy. Yes, God works in marvelous and mysterious ways. It is awesome.

      Yep, Hot Diggity Doggies is so right.

      Like

  2. Wonderful news Pepp! I know that you’ve been agonizing over keeping that Jeep running. As the Grouchman said, God must’ve decided that you’ve been a good girl and deserved a break (he may have missed the teddy cat fight with CW!).

    I know that the Buick will give you the mobility that’s been missing and let you get out and visit more and that’s all good. Just having dependable transportation has got to be a load off your shoulders – especially with a tough winter coming (could have a lot of Climate Change).

    Anywho, I’m happy for you, you’re a good person with a good heart and you deserve a break now and then. Best wishes – AND BE CAREFUL!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Garnet,

      Thanks. Oh, you’ve got that right about me agonizing over the jeep and I’ve poured so much money into that thing over the last months. Now to sell it I’d have to get a really good price to make up for all the dough I’ve sunk into it.

      Well God has a good sense of humor and I think He laughed over the teddy fight. LOL! 😀

      I don’t know yet how this car will do in the winter. We get so much ice and nothing is good on that. But the jeep can go due to the 4-W drive. Yeah, climate change. What a joke.

      I’ll try to be careful as I can. This car is an automatic and I’m not used to that. All I’ve ever driving my entire life is a stick shift.

      Like

  3. Poppyseed58 said:

    Pat I am so happy for you

    Like

  4. You do deserve it PepGal!!!

    Like

  5. Bob Roller said:

    At one time,Buick was the best car GM had to offer.That car looks good.It IS front wheel drive so so remember to put snow tire on the FRONT wheels and not the rear.It has a constant velocity joint behind each from wheel so a simple test is to go in a circle on a
    a large parking lot with the front wheels turned all the way left and the all the way right and if you hear a clicking or worse,the joint(s)must be replaced.These joints are a fancy U joint that allow the car to be steered with power applied and are the important end of the drive line.
    I’d keep that jeep as a back up or if four wheel drive is needed.Have the fuel filter UNDER the car checked if it has one.It’s called the forgotten filter and needs replacement every so often.
    Our every day car is a 1997 Lincoln Town Car,a one owner,the little old lady of song and legend and it is still worth more than I paid for it years ago.Every thing works except the owner but we enjoy the quiet comfort on long drives.We drove it to Lexington last month and it averaged over 27 miles per gallon at 70+ with the air conditioner running.
    I re-engineered this Lincoln by getting rid of the air suspension on the rear and installed a
    replacement intake manifold to get rid of the plastic one Ford used which was trouble as it leaked anti freeze.
    Enjoy the Buick,they are good cars.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Bob,

      Well that’s a lot of info to absorb. I’ll have the things checked that you told me to. I follow your advice.

      I am going to keep the jeep for back up. I already decided to do that. After all the money I put into that thing and it does have the 4-W drive I need sometimes out here.

      I’m glad to hear Buick is a good car.

      That is really good mileage on that Town Car. Now where on earth were you that you could drive 70mph? Oh, it must have been on the interstate. In KY you can only drive 55mph except on the interstate. Had trouble getting used to that after living in OH, where the the speed limits are much higher than here.

      Like

  6. God takes care of widows and children. I’m so happy for you! I knew you needed a vehicle. That one is beautiful!!!!!
    Bask in the warmth of His love and that of your family and extended family. Many love you and that is a true gift.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      tannngl,

      Thanks so much. I’m glad God is taking care of this widow as He has taken care of my grand children with a new step father who is so good to them. That was a blessing too after my son had died.

      Love is the truest gift one can get. Thanks again tannngl.

      Like

  7. Gar Swaffar said:

    That’s better than Sweet Monkey on a Stick!

    Like

  8. PTL lil sis! God is good. We are very happy for you. Peggy and Chris might be your guardian angels. What a wonderful gift!

    ‘oohrah!! 🙂

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Willibeaux,

      Peggy and Chris have been Guardian Angels in many ways. They have done a lot for me since Ron died and I’m overwhelmed with their generosity. I don’t know how many times they’ve bought me groceries and they helped me get a new washer when my old one died on me.

      Thanks WB!

      Like

  9. Hi Pepp,

    It looks like a beautiful car. Good luck with it.
    I’m so happy for you.
    Now you will be able to get out more and in comfort to.
    That is such a nice thing for Peggy and Chris to do for you.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Dogged,

      It’s been a long time no see so I’m so glad to hear from you!

      I hope to get out more. I’m not sure of the mechanical part of the car and what condition that is in although my family tells me it is good. Yes, it is a wonderful thing for them to do for me. I’m still so overwhelmed by it all.

      Like

  10. Donna Rabus said:

    While reading this, Pepp, I got tears – tears of happiness for you. This was so kind of Peggy and Chris to give you his mother’s car. It looks really nice. Is this a convertible? Buick’s are really good cars.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Donna,

      Aw you got tears. So did I. I did cry on the phone before Peggy and I hung up. It is a very kind thing for them to do. I think they want to make sure I can get up to see the kids’ games and recitals which will be so wonderful. I used to when I had my Honda get there or the kids activities and that is one thing I’ve missed so much since the Honda went down.

      Like

  11. Very happy for you, Pepp. Glad to see that you’re finally getting a break; and I hope this is just the first of many to come your way!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi there Handsome Paulie,

      Glad to see you here once again. It’s been a long time. Yes it is a break and it would be nice to get more of these kinds of breaks. I’ll take this one for right now and let tomorrow find its’ own way. It’s one day at a time for me still but I’m all right for the most part. Except some other woman got you before I ever even had a chance. I mean if there ever was. 😀

      Like

      • Pat, as I recall when I came back on the market you were a happily married woman 😉

        But that was a very nice compliment; thank you and God bless.

        Like

        • peppermintfarm said:

          Paulie,

          Good Lord, you make yourself sound like a piece of meat, “back on the market”. LOL!

          Yes, that is true. I guess we were not meant for that destiny to be together.

          You’re welcome and God bless you too.

          Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Maggie,

      Thank you so much. Yes praise the Lord is right. I can’t believe this just yet. It’s like a dream to me to have a car that is comfortable. Although I have to say I’ve gotten very attached to my jeep even though it’s a rough ride. LOL! 🙂

      Like

  12. Davetherave said:

    Well Pepp my dear, do you believe you deserve this blessing now after all these wonderful comments??? Remember the measure of a person is not how much they love, but by how much they are loved. All these wonderful folks coming on here and making such terrific comments shows you have a lot of folks that love ya’!!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Dave,

      They are all wonderful comments yes. I do have a lot of people who love me. That is so nice. And what more could I ask for.

      Like

  13. Fantastic news Pepp. I too see it as a blessing from God. That was great of them to put you right in their plans. Well, you needed that. And not to worry, I bet Merlin would eat that food right off the floor. (ha ha) Great news.

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

