Wicked Commentary

How About a Smile Today

Do you need a smile or a laugh?  I know I do with all the bad news every day. I need relief from it all because sometimes my head starts to hurt so bad. My eyes hurt from reading so much bad stuff.  My heart sinks so I need a laugh.

Hope you enjoy.

Dog Smile 2 Dog Smile 3 Dog Smile 4 Dog Smile 5 Dog Smile 6 Dog Smile 7 Dog Smile 8 Dog Smile 9 Dog Smile 10 Dog Smile 11 Dog Smile 12 Dog Smile 13 Dog Smile 14

Y’all from the city dog is my personal favorite.  City folks don’t get it why we live in the country.  People tell me it’s too boring, too quiet. Well I’m here to tell y’all that it’s not boring, it’s not always quiet, and if you love nature there are plenty of noises and animals to observe.  I don’t find it boring.  I actually like the sounds of the coyotes and the eerie sound of screech owls at night.

Since there are no lights here I can see stars I never even dreamed of seeing. I can see whole galaxies. It’s a wonderland of light on a dark night

It’s beautiful to see the Amish go up and down the road in their magnificent horses.  I like the laughing and smiles of the Amish kids coming home from school riding in their buggies with their own little horses.

Wild flowers abound in their seasons.  There are always new ones I find.

Farmers are out with their equipment churning manure into the ground, planting their crops, hanging their tobacco, feeding the cows.  Up and down my road horses, cows and sheep keep the grass cut for the Amish.

I get to see swallows in their artful nests raise their babies and see the little peeps take flight.  A whole flock of swallows fly with them on their first flight making sure they do not fall to the ground.  They fly with joy celebrating the peep’s graduation.

On hikes I may see a deer suddenly jump from its’ nesting site in tall brush.  I find tracks of all kinds of animals, mountain lions, bears, hares, racoons, deer.

I like the smell of the earth. I like the many different trees when they bloom, bear nuts, fruit, and the shade they provide.

I like the privacy of having no neighbors close to me who can see me run out with Merlin outside to potty him in my pajamas or old beat up clothes. I like I don’t have to dress up for the neighbors. Everyone dresses in old work clothes and hats.

Yeah, it’s quieter out here than towns or cities, but that is good to me.  What is so wonderful hearing semis loudly shift down the roads, motorcycles making the most noise they can, the heat blasting up from concrete roads and buildings with no shade to be had in the summer.

I’d rather sit on my porches feeling the cool summer breeze on most days and play ball with Merlin who can run where he wants.

Yep, it’s quiet and peaceful here in the country, but it’s a relief to be able to reflect, having your deepest thoughts uninterrupted, by all those “unnatural sounds”. 

Comments on: "How About a Smile Today" (23)

  1. And Dear Pepper, don’t forget watching the ground squirrels scurrying about, or having extended conversations with the cotton-tail rabbits around the front door,,, and watching the moon rise big and golden over the horizon,,,

    Or the smell of fresh mown sage and grass,,,

    And sometimes, the aimless puttering around in the garage, just for the hell of it,,,

    The smell of the air after a mid-summer’s monsoon,,,

    Money doesn’t make one wealthy – It is the appreciation of God’s Gifts that surround us.
    Yet, so few, comparatively, seem to care~!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Grouchy,

      LOL! I realized after I posted this that I repeated myself with some things. Yes, surely the squirrels, rabbits, that big moon coming over the horizon, another gorgeous site at night.

      I love the smell of fresh mown grass too and sage. Yep, now I don’t have much in my makeshift garage, but the shed has plenty to putter around in there.

      You’re so right, money does not soothe our souls like appreciation of God’s gifts to us. And it is sad that others don’t enjoy it like we do.

      Like

  2. Thanks Pep – talk about fuzzies.
    Arlene

    Like

  3. Hi Pepper, glad you took a day off from this world’s wrongs.
    Cute photos, critters do have a way to touch your heart. Studies show that animals can reduce tension and improve mood. We lost our old lab last week and it is beyond amazing how our Pyr has stepped up with doing antics and attention, as if she knows what is needed to fill the void. Like you, I feel it is important for us to connect with nature in as many ways that we can. In addition to the several ways you mentioned, we use aromatherapy, this month’s flavor is lavender.

    Psalm 118: 24 This is the day the LORD has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.

    I feel this verse applies to every single day of our lives. Every day of our lives can be filled with joy. It is a retraining of my thought process, think up, not down.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Hi Walt,

      Sometimes I just can’t take it any more and I have to turn to other things.

      Yes, indeed animals do cause us to reduce stress and improve mood. Merlin can always put a big smile on my face.

      I’m so sorry you lost your lab last week. Losing a pet is so difficult. But I’m glad Pyr is sensitive enough to realize just what you need. They sense when we need love. I could not live without a dog.

      I like aromatherapy too. But I have to be careful what I get because I’m allergic to some of these smells. My daughter in law gave me one called “Mistletoe”, which I burn even when it’s not Christmas because I love the smell so much.

      Indeed that verse does apply to our everyday life. It’s a matter of being able to stop and receive it.

      Like

  4. A cute and peaceful post, Pepp. I like the pics bunches (my fav is ‘forgetting doggie dentures’).

    And your account of life in the country is lovely. Thanx so very much for a respite from all the whoha we face. I needed this.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Mrs. Al,

      Thanks for coming by. I like the doggie with the missing dentures too. They are all cute to me.

      You are most welcome for the respite. I need a respite too every so often or I think I’d go off my rocker. Oh, wait have I fallen out of my rocker lately?

      Like

  5. Davetherave said:

    Awesome post and just what we need right now Pepp in the darkness of King Sumbitch!

    I had a wonderful day simply enjoying the beauty of KY, the awesome weather and spending most of the day with my family. Christ greatly blessed me this day and that should put a smile on anyone’s face. It certainly did mine…

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Dave, by golly thank ya so much.

      Ah, yes out of the darkness of evil into the light of our beautiful KY home. I’m so glad you had an awesome day. You sure do need it.

      Like

  6. Donna Rabus said:

    Nice post, Pepp – very enjoyable. My favorite was the Lab with her 5 pups. Adorable. Well, I do live in the city, but on the edge, and we have deer, snow owls, cougars, snakes (yikes!), geese, ducks (lake across the street) – so we have some of God’s beautiful sights too, but we do not have the opportunity to see all the stars as you do. Too many lights – we live just behind the Social Security office – so lots of security and lighting…thank you for the smile – the dogs were all so cute!

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Donna,

      I’m glad you came by and that you get to enjoy God’s gifts too. Also gad this post made you smile.

      Like

  7. Thanks for the brief respite Pepp. The human brain can take only so much bombardment by negative influences and God knows that our liar-in-chief provides much of the ammunition. It is good and necessary to have some sort of cleansing of one’s soul by other influences on a recurring basis. In your case, your environment and Merlin. My semi-cleanse is writing satire and my dog, Max. Sometimes, after reading about all of the awful and negative activities going on in our country, I do find solace when Max comes and lays his head on my leg and looks up at me with those big brown eyes – as if he’s saying, “don’t give up Dad, we’ll be ok.”

    And he’s right, so I’ll give him a “cookie” and we’ll go outside and play a while. And all is better.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Garnet, thanks for coming by. Yes, we sure do need a respite from all the negative things we are experiencing right now. I know I can’t stay sane if I don’t distract and don’t detach myself from it for awhile. That’s so cute what Max does with his big brown eyes. I get the same from Merlin so I know how that feels. That’s right, give them a “cookie” and go play. Good for the soul.

      Like

  8. Good and funny, I like the escape one. I know what you mean and I bet nice starlit night makes time stand still. I think that was a great one. Funny that there is no need for soundproofing when there’s nothing to block out. Ya all from the city one needs a bandana and it would be even better.

    Oh dId you see the video on Fox of the little fawn a guy was trying to move? He was holding it scratching its belly and every time he tried to stop to put him down it squealed. Wish I knew where the video was.

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Bull, that escape one is just too funny also. I love all of them actually. Yes, a quiet, no sounds, starlit night is beyond words. I just stand there looking up and feel like I’m in another world. Some of the stars I feel like I could reach out and touch. I get so mesmerized I forget about the pack of coyotes out there. 🙂

      Like

    • I’m so glad you found it, Bullright~! OMGawrsh~! That is an experience that man will live every day that he lives, until The Second Coming~!
      And yet, it’s one that few would ever believe, without the video proof.

      How so very blessed he is, in so many ways~! And I’ll bet you ten to one that he will never hunt a deer in his life again~!

      Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Bull,

      OMG! That is adorable about the deer. I guess that guy has a lifetime now of taking care of that little thing. So cute!

      Like

  9. Pepp, I have to pass on a story I saw on the web. Tear-jerker alert. Lab was readopted and then walked 30 miles back to the home , rejected back to shelter again. But woman stepped in to take her. What a story.

    Story details
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/03/dog-walks-30-miles_n_5641670.html

    Then look where she ended up going… in style.
    https://www.facebook.com/HelenRich?ref=stream

    Like

    • peppermintfarm said:

      Bull, well that is a heart breaking story and I’m so glad it had a happy ending so I didn’t end up in a puddle of tears. Good for Helen Rich!

      Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

