Wicked Commentary

For all those who knew Purplegimp from their blogs, I have very sad  news.  Lucie aka Purplegimp died due to a stroke on July 16th.

For those who don’t know Lucie, she lived in Israel.  She was my eyes and ears for what was going on in Israel and the news that the media would never would report.

I received the news today from Susie aka Sweat Pea and I am utterly devastated.

Susie and I had not heard from her and we thought her computer was down again. She often had computer problems so we thought that was the reason we had not heard from her.

Liat, her daughter in law posted the news on Facebook, a place that I don’t visit much these days. Susie had gotten on Facebook to see if any messages were there from Lucie and found Liat’s message about Lucie.  It is strange that I too was going to get on Facebook yesterday also to go to Lucie’s page but being sick I’ve not been on the computer too much. I’ve not been able to sit at the computer very long before I had to lie down again sick.

Lucie was a wonderful, loving and giving person.  She was my dearest friend for many years now and we usually emailed each other every day and sometimes several times a day.  She made me laugh so many times. Out of the blue she would call me and no matter what mood I was in she always made me laugh.

Although Lucie was very disabled, it never stopped her from doing what she wanted to do.  She was a true hero in my eyes, but she never liked hearing that.  She was a person, so crippled, who never lost her love of life and all what went with it.

She became crippled when a Hezbollah launched Katusha rocket hit a hillside near a road where she was driving on her motorcycle. The blast from the rocket threw her off her bike and onto the road.  One whole side of her was smashed and after that she never had the use of that side again.  She spent a year in hospital recovering. While in hospital, she suffered a stroke and a heart attack. She thought she would not live that year. Miraculously she lived and went on to give so much joy to those around her. 

With all of the bombs and rockets that came into Israel every day  Lucie told me she had no fear and if the day came that she would be blown up by a bomb, it was God’s will.  So she never allowed herself to be frightened over it even when the sirens went off near her home warning them to get into their bomb shelters.

Israel requires every home to have a bomb shelter as the attacks are so often and often devastating, killing many. Of late it was so difficult for Lucie to get out of bed quickly enough to get into her bomb shelter. She just stayed in bed, and as usual said her prayers if God decided one of those bombs were to hit her house.

Fortunately I got to meet her and her friend Susie a couple of years ago when she was in the States. She and Susie stayed with us for a week. We had so much fun and that was the time where we got into trouble going to Walmart to buy a “terrorist phone”.  For those who  read my blog you know the story.  We got so many laughs over that so many times reminiscing over the incident.

After my son’s death, Lucie was always there for me no matter what.  She allowed me to vent my sorrow as each holiday and birthday passed.  She never told me to “get over it” because she knew I never would.  She helped me so much through that terrible time in my life.  Without her I don’t know how I would have survived the death of my son. She knew exactly what to say to me always. I have so much to be thankful for her being in my life.

Lucie Family MemoriesThis is a collage of Lucie with her son and his two children.  They were the love of Lucie’s life to have these two  grand children. Lucie could hardly stand as she was confined to a wheel chair but for this picture she did as she is holding onto her son.

Missy and LucieLucy just got Missy this year and they were made for one another.  I’m sure Missy will miss Lucie so much.  I hope her friend, Golan took her to care for her.

MissyLucie was so funny she even could make Missy laugh.

I talked to her son and gave him my condolences.  He said he and his wife are missing Lucie so much.  He also told me that she would want to be remembered as one who celebrated life and its’ beauty.  That I know,  no matter how much pain she was in or how much life was difficult for her at times. She suffered much pain, but never stopped loving life ever.

Lucie is buried near her home in Kiryat Shmonah and her spirit will live on with all the joy and love of life she felt.  Her son told me she wouldn’t want us to be sad but to remember her in her celebration of her life. But he is sad too and taking one day at a time now he said.

Knowing Lucie I realize she would want me to not be sad, but I can’t help being very sad that my wonderful friend is gone.  I mourn her and I miss her so much. I will never hear her laugh again or the stories she wrote me about that were hilarious. But I also know she is in God’s arms and in a better place now.

Rest in Peace, my dear friend Lucie, July 16th, 2013.  

Comments on: "Very Sorrowful News by Peppermint" (53)

  1. am so sorry for your loss of a beautiful friend…will say a prayer for you to get comfort and for her family to carry on with strength.

    Like

    • grams05,

      Thank you so much for your condolences. It is so nice of you to say a prayer to comfort me. I am very sad today and have not stopped crying since I heard the news. I’m sure her family will appreciate prayers for them too. Thanks so much for coming by. That was so kind of you.

      Like

  2. Pepp: What sad news–I extend my most
    sincere condolences to Lucy’s family & to
    all who loved her & laughed with her! She
    will be sorely missed & the world is truly
    diminished with the absence of this beau-
    tiful soul! I especially enjoyed the lovely
    pictures of Lucy & her family–in all the
    pictures Lucy is depicted laughing &/or
    smiling & bringing joy & a smile to all those
    around her as well. May God Bless & keep
    all of you & comfort you in your grief.Lucy is
    truly in a much better place now–one where
    no more bombs will fall & she will only be
    surrounded by God’s Love.

    Like

    • Elizabeth, yes she is sorely missed and was an awesome woman. She was such an inspiration to me in so many ways. The world is diminished by her death. My world is upside down right now. Such shock this morning when I found out. She truly gave so many people so much in her life. Her family will appreciate your condolences. And indeed she was a beautiful soul as you stated.

      Like

  3. susie aka sweet pea said:

    I will miss Franne that who Lucie was to me. I meant her in an A-Team group we both used to be in, in 2000 . At first I was a little timid around her but soon we made friends and she did a lot for me but the best thing she did for me was got me over the fear of flying thanks to her I took my first plane ride but nit my last in May of 2004 clear to England . I will miss my dear friend

    Like

    • Dear susie aka sweet pea: Please accept
      my most sincere condolences. I know that
      all of you who knew & loved this amazing &
      awesome individual found your lives im-
      measurably enriched through your asso-
      ciation with her over the years. She will be
      sorely missed by so many! My only contact
      with Lucy came via this blog, & she still had
      quite an impact on my life & I loved the story
      of ya’ll’s Walmart escapade . . . May God
      Bless & keep you all & assuage your grief.

      Like

    • Susie,

      Thanks for adding your thoughts on Lucie. Yes, she did help you to travel and get over your fears on that. That trip to England was wonderful and i heard many stories from Lucie about it. I too miss our dear friend so much.

      Like

    • Davetherave said:

      Susie, I so very sorry for your loss and you will be in my prayers.

      Like

  4. Davetherave said:

    Oh my goodness Pepp; I’m so very sorry to hear this sad news about Gimp. My deepest condolences to you and Susie. Lucie had character and told it like it was and I sure in the hell will miss her comments. Susie, you and all of Lucie’s loved ones will be in my prayers.

    P.S. Let me know, if you’d like to talk today. I got home earlier than expected.

    Like

    • Dave,

      Thanks for your kind words. She sure did have character and stamina. I know you will miss her too.
      And thanks for calling me today. It really helped me in many ways. You are a good friend indeed.

      Like

  5. gunnyginalaska said:

    The world lost a great soul. May the Lord bless and keep her.

    Like

    • Thanks Gunny for stopping by. Yeah the world did lose a great soul. I know our dear Lord has her in Heaven with Him now and that’s the place she wanted to be, next to God.

      Like

  6. deconservative said:

    The blog world is a darker place today as The Lord had called home his beloved Lucie. She will be missed by us all and her courage and determination to live her life to the fullest serve as inspiration to us all. Heaven gets to rejoice today as one of God’s Earth Angels has returned home.

    Like

    • deconservative,

      Thanks so much for your beautiful words about Lucie. They match her completely. And she sure was an inspiration to us all. Yes, one of God’s angels returned home to God. I’m sure she was one of His dearest souls to bring back to be with Him. And a terrible loss for those left behind.

      Like

  7. Pepper, I offer my sincerest sympathy.

    In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I WILL COME AGAIN AND RECEIVE YOU UNTO MYSELF; THAT WHERE I AM, THERE YE MAY BE ALSO (John 14:2,3).

    2 Corinthians 5 :8, “absent from the body and to be present with the Lord”

    Like

    • Walt,

      Thank you so much for your condolences. I felt like she was a sister of mine. I think she felt the same too.
      Your quotes from the Bible are comforting. God bless you!

      Like

  8. Gar Swaffar said:

    At this point all I have left is to put her family on our prayer chain for healing in the loss. And for you too Pepp.

    Like

  9. That is devastating news. I’m sorry for you too Pepp. That is hard to accept. So full of life and could make me laugh like no one else. She will be missed. I know she would want her life celebrated. But I can’t help mourning the loss. I never see purple that I don’t think of her. I’m sorry, Pepp, my sympathy. . I’m sure she is enjoying freedom. My prayers for her family.

    Like

    • Bull,

      Devastating indeed. You nailed it for me. That’s how I feel today. So lost without her now.
      I was in shock at first and still my mind tells me it can’t be true but I know it is. I’m so sad. I’m sad for her family too.

      Yes, her making people laugh was one of her special qualities. I can’t help it either, Bull, of mourning her loss. She was so important to me in my life. She was like a soul mate of mine. We both thought so much alike but I could never be as funny as she.

      Yeah, I am the same I can’t think or see purple without thinking of her and tried to send her little things made of purple colors.

      Thanks Bull for your kind words and your sympathy. She is free now of all her pain and suffering that she would not let people know about. She was such a strong character and hated to complain no matter how bad the pain. She is with God now.

      Like

  10. With Gimp’s passing, it feels like losing a member of the family. Always enjoyed reading her posts, and the story about her,Susie, and you left me howling. Israel has lost a treasure, and God gained one. Hopefully, He will let her sling some lightning bolts Hezbollah’s way.

    Like

    • clyde,

      Thanks for coming by and sharing your thoughts too. She was like a family member as we all know her from the blogs for quite some time now.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed our adventures and got laughs over our antics. We had so much fun when she was here. I’m so glad I got to meet her in person before she died.

      What you said about her getting some slings of lightning bolts at Hezbollah is exactly what she would always wanted to do. So I think God might let her do that.

      Israel did lose a treasure as we all have. I too am sure she is loving being with God now.
      She was so devout about God and her Jewish religion. I also think God is loving having her back home with Him now too.

      Like

  11. My world seems a bit less bright at the loss of this great human.
    Prayers for her family, her friends, and her beloved Israel.

    Like

    • Hi Saltwater,

      I haven’t seen you in a long time. It’s good to hear from you.
      Thanks for stopping by and giving us your thoughts. Yes, the world is less bright now without Lucie. So much is gone for me now with her laughter, her stories which were hilarious, and her deep love of life. She was an inspiration to me always. Thanks for all the prayers too. She surely did love Israel and she had so many friends there who I’m sure are missing her so much.

      Like

  12. So sorry to hear of your loss, Pepp. I didn’t know Lucie directly, but I feel like I know her – through you. You’ve written so much about her and how close you two were that I think I know more about her heart and soul, than of her mortal body. She was surely something special for you to have such a close bond with her.

    Nothing that anyone can say or do can make up for her absence. You’ll miss her and no one can stop that, nor should they. You and Lucie have an eternal bond that nothing else will ever replace – she was a real and true friend.

    Just rest assured that someday, you’ll meet again.

    Like

    • Garnet,

      Thx for stopping by and for your thoughts. Her heart and soul were bigger than life itself. I’ve never known anyone quite like her. And she sure was a special human being. I feel lucky to have had her in my life and such a close bond with her. We shared so much. When she came here to visit it was if I had lived here it was so comfortable.

      That is true. No one can say anything that will replace my grief that she is gone. Thankfully no one has told me to feel anything else. Even if they did I’d grieve anyway. We sure did have a bond and it was very strong.

      I too am sure we will meet again in a better place where she is now. She used to call me St. Gracie but she was actually the saint. I’ve never known anyone with so much to bear and not complain but go on with life no matter how crippled she was and how much pain she had.

      Like

  13. Lucie and her family will be in my family’s prayers.

    Like

  14. Just got back and read your post, Pepperhawk. I know you and all who knew and loved Gimp are sad but it is not like you mourn with no hope. How comforting is that from the Lord. She was a great blogger and I enjoyed my interaction with her.

    Stay strong!

    Like

    • Mrs. Al,

      Thanks for coming by. Yes, indeed we loved her and we mourn the loss of a very dear friend. I know she is with God now and in peace. I’m glad you enjoyed your interactions with her.
      Of course I’m strong. I’m still here after the worst death that can happen to any mother, the loss of my son.

      Like

  15. goshawk3 said:

    Pepp,

    What a beautiful eulogy you’ve written of Lucie. There is not a lot that I can add to what all the commenters have expressed, they’ve said everything I feel.

    When you first told me of Purplegimps passing I was shocked and felt a great loss in my heart. When she came to visit durring the summer I really didn’t know what to expect. But as it turned out, she was every thing you’ve said about her.

    You mentioned sending her little things (you did that quite often) it came to mind when we sent her some M&M’s. She had sent you and e-mail asking if you could send her some of that candy because it was her favorite and she couldn’t get it in Israel. So we sent her ten pounds of candy. She was sure shocked to recieve so much.

    I will miss her tellephone calls and e-mails that she would send to me asking why she hadn’t heard from ( when you were sick.)

    I will never forget that vist that we were so fortunate to have from Susie and Lucie! May you rest in peace Franne!

    Like

    • Thanks Hawk,

      Yes, we were both in shock and our hearts were feeling so much loss. I’m so glad she and Susie came here for that visit.

      Oh, I had forgotten that 10lbs of M and Ms we sent her. That was so funny and she was so delighted to get them.

      Yes, we will both miss her emails and calls. It’s funny how she would tell me not to worry about her, but if I got sick she worried herself to death. I loved the phone calls from her each time I was in hospital. The nurses would spread the word around all over that I had a friend in Israel who called. I guess down here that was big news to talk about. Both Lucie and I would laugh ourselves sick over that one.

      I’m sure she is at peace now and no more worries for her. That is the only thing that helps me when I think how she is no longer in pain. She suffered enough.

      Like

  16. Dear Pepperhawk, I am so saddened to hear this news. Sending my prayers for you and for her family….

    Like

  17. Very sorry to hear the sad news. I enjoyed reading her blog at TH. Her insights of events in Israel, always forthcoming and welcome. RIP Purplegimp!

    Like

    • Tim,

      So good to see you come by and add your thoughts about Purplegimp. She had so many who knew her. She sure was my eyes and ears on Israel. All the news we don’t get here in the media of course.
      Thank you for your very kind words about Purplegimp.

      Like

  18. Very sad news, indeed. I always enjoyed Purplegimp’s postings and I’ve especially sorry for your loss, Pat.

    Like

    • Paulie,

      Thanks for coming by and adding your thoughts. Yes Purplegimp’s postings were enjoyable and I miss her terribly. Thanks for your condolences Paulie. It really has helped having so many come by and give their thoughts on her. She was remarkable in many ways.

      Like

  19. Very sad! Just saw this since I’ve been gone for 2 weeks. She was a wonderful person who did make people laugh. I got to know her when I was going thru some tough things in my life and she was a great source of comfort to me. I always admired how she carried on with all the daily struggles she faced with such a positive attitude. I truly admired her. You have written a wonderful tribute to her!! I am sure that she will be missed by many. Thank you for sharing and I pray for peace for you Pepp as you have lost a very dear friend! It is never easy to lose those we truly cherish!! — Kimberly aka Str8

    Like

    • Hi Kimberly,

      Good to see you. I didn’t know where you were and I see you are on WP and I’ll have to come over when I feel better.

      She was very good at giving comfort and support. I’m glad she was there for you during your tough times. I truly admired her too. I’ve never known a person with so much to struggle with and be so positive and make jokes about it.

      Thanks, I’m glad you liked the tribute. Oh, she will be missed by many people as she shared with so many.

      Thanks for your prayers, Kimberly, I have lost such a dear and close friend. I’m having a hard time imagining life without her. Even today I’m still in shock to a certain degree. No, it sure isn’t easy to lose a cherished one. I will probably miss her the rest of my life. There will never be another like Lucie.

      Like

  20. This is one of those times when there is no word or phrase that can console the deep and profound sorrow you feel for such a great loss of friendship and comraderie, Pat. I remember well The Purplegimp´s blog and her often blistering commentary and wicked sense of humor. She was St. Lucie to your St. Gracie. She was courageous, brave and possessed an enormous spirit of love for life.

    Rest in Peace, Lucie.

    Like

    • Dawn,

      Thanks so much for coming by. Yes, I feel profound loss of Lucie. I will miss her forever.

      She was one of a kind. She sure did have a blistering commentary and she was wicked. She called herself the Queen of Evility. That was so funny.

      Did you know what Lucie and Gracie was about. We decided to call ourselves that after Lucille Ball and Gracie Burns. We considered ourselves a couple of nuts like they were. For some reason she started to call me St. Gracie over some things I had been through.
      So we had a lot of fun with that.

      She was courageous, very brave and her spirit never diminished no matter what hit her in life. That I admired so much about her but she’d have nothing to do with allowing me to give her any compliments and warned me when I did. That’s how funny she was. She’d give me a warning over it and tell me she was the Queen of Evility. She was hilarious.

      She hated sentimentality and I believe she did not tell Susie and me because she knew we’d get all weepy about her impending death. That would be just like her. Usually her friend Golan in Israel would notify me, but she must have told him not to. She died 3 days after our last emails to one another.

      Like

  21. What a beautiful human being. And role model. There is a hole in the world.

    Like

    • drrik,

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and all you said was quite true. I’m sure there is a big hole in Israel. She fought for so many causes there, even crippled and in a wheel chair.
      I sure know there is a hole in my soul right now.

      Like

    • A hole, indeed. Great way to put it.

      I often thought she should write a book. Now I wish she had.

      Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

