Wicked Commentary

This is a good story for once to relieve the tensions for those who are struggling with so much stress over what is going on here at home.

A young Ethiopian 12 yr. old girl was abducted by several men who took her out to force her to marry them, was guarded by lions for half a day until authorities found her.

Male Lion

She was beaten repeatedly and left by 7 men.  When the police found her she was being guarded by male lions.  When the police went to take the girl back, the lions just left her like a gift.

These girls are often beaten and raped until they are near death.  One authority stated that her cries may have sounded like a wounded cub and perhaps that is why the lions guarded her.  However that doesn’t make much sense since often male lions eat cubs.

The other explanation is that it was a kind of miracle.  Most lions will attack humans, especially male ones.  So was this a miracle?  Do they still happen?  Have any of our readers experienced a miracle of some sort they wish to share?

The practice in Ethiopia is to abduct a young girl and force them into a marriage at a very young age.   This has been the usual marriage custom in Ethiopia.  It is estimated that over 70% of marriages are done by abduction.

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/8305836/ns/world_news-africa/t/ethiopian-girl-reportedly-guarded-lions/#.UWW-0koTRF-

Comments on: "Lions Guard Muslim Girl by Peppermint" (38)

  1. goshawk3 said:

    This is truly a wonderful story. But really hard to believe. I’m not saying it’s not true but knowing about African Lions this would have to be a fabricated story or an outright miracle!

    Like

  2. Hawk, Miracles happen every day. We just don’t always have our eyes and hearts open to perceive them for what they are.

    Like

    • Lucie,

      I completely agree with you that miracles happen every day. Some of us just don’t see it. We do not have our eyes open or our minds to it. Or our hearts as you stated. I’ve seen miracles happen in my lifetime. So I believe in them.

      Like

  3. I’ve had so many happen to me personally that I’ve almost lost count. The last one I saw was when the kenyan was here. Before jaunting off to hobnob with the king of Jordan, the would be king of the world was supposed to go to Bethlehem by helicopter. A very sudden severe sand storm(the weather prediction for the whole visit was for clear beautiful weather) moved in with a haze that made using Marine I impossible. He had to go to Bethlehem by car which totally messed up the time table, and get to the AF I by car as well. The Israeli press was at the airport waiting for him and there was speculation that he wouldn’t be able to fly out because the haze was so dense. It was truly wondrous to watch the skies clear as he approached the plane. The sand storm and haze were gone as quickly as they came.

    Like

    • Lucie,

      Indeed a great story and a miracle. I would also add the muzzie who called for the King’s arrest while there for crimes against humanity. Another good one and a miracle coming from a Muzzie.

      Like

  4. St. Gracie, Seeing that kind of change in weather was quite amazing. Even more amazing was that not a single media outlet reported on it. Even our reporters just mentioned it as it was happening, but didn’t connect it to He Who Really Controls The Weather. It still has me shaking my head in amazement. It’s not every day that we get to see such an obvious message.
    Yeah, that muzzie who called for him to arrested while there (here) was the first one to get it right! Too bad nothing was done with his suggestion.

    Like

    • Lucie,

      Of course the media wouldn’t mention such a thing. But, we know better.

      Yeah, it’s too bad the muzzies usual plan for “arresting” so called crimes against humanity was not followed through. What a bunch of wusses.

      Like

  5. A truly wonderful story Pepp! Of all animals…one that will eat their own cubs, but sumpin’ went on here not of our world. I have no doubt in my heart and mind what went on here, but I just so happen to worship the one true God and accept His Son as my Savior. Need I say more?? 😉

    Like

    • Dave,

      Yeah, I think it’s a great story and a miracle. Those lions didn’t even try to go after the child’s rescue force. I believe in Jesus too and miracles.

      Like

  6. Pepp, check out Daniel 6:11-28. If God could do this in the days of Daniel, He can certainly do it now. (“My God has sent His angel, and hath shut the lions’ mouths”)

    Of course it is a miracle!

    Like

    • Grey,

      That’s a perfect quote from Scripture for this miracle. I love that and I’ll have to remember that one.
      Yes, indeed it was a miracle.

      Like

  7. Gar Swaffar said:

    I’ll vote miracle, being Evangelical and rabidly Pentecostal, I can’t do otherwise. As for miracles in my personal experience: My wife was spontaneously healed at a prayer service of cancer. In my opinion, that counts. (and her doctor as a Christian gent was not a bit surprised by it, just irritated that she wouldn’t do the chemo or radiation)

    Like

    • Gar,

      Cool! Glad you are voting yes to with the rest of us. That is one unbelievable story about your wife and having the cancer to away. But I believe that prayers among many people can help in these situations. The doc should have been happy she didn’t have to take the chemo or radiation. But at least he believed.

      Like

      • Gar Swaffar said:

        That was his ‘job’ and he was extremely pleased, but also wanted to cover all the bases. However, it’s now been 14 years and greater is He who is in us, than he who is in the world

        Like

  8. I for a while never believe in miracle because until 2003 no miracle ever happened to me until I meant Franne aka Lucie on the internet . I got to go places I never thought I would and for the first time get on a plane. So I did have a miracle something I’m sure I will never get over and in England I got to flirt with a cab driver

    Okay I got a new nickname you can used it if you want You don’t have to so far no one has LOL It is Sweet Pea

    Like

    • Oi! You Sweet Pea, you! Don’t forget Karen. It was a joint effort that had us both doing His work and dragging you off to a decadent week in England. You not only flirted shamelessly with the cab driver, you got all tarted up that one night and had a real drink leaning against the bar at the hotel!
      I think that surviving that last jaunt of ours around America was also a miracle of sorts. We actually got you from coast to coast and lived to tell about it. NOW, that’s a miracle of no small proportions

      Like

      • Yes Karen also yeah I guess I was shamelessly flirting but enjoy every moment of it. Even getting tarted up and having a drink. I saw both oceans

        Love Sweet Pea AKA Susie

        Like

      • Lucie,

        So once again we learn that Sweat Pea aka Susie is not as innocent as she appears. But, I don’t know why I ever had the impression since she was here hanging on a bedpost. Rest of story is out of bounds never to be spoken about. LOL!

        Like

    • Sweat Pea,

      Yes, I too believe it was a miracle meeting Lucie over the Internet. I know she does not like stories that don’t show her evility but she’s been one rock for me. I’m so glad you got to go to London and enjoy that city. I loved seeing all the sights in London, but have to admit I didn’t flirt with anyone. My boss and I, well that was a different story not to be heard by innocent ears here. 😀

      And coming here traveling all over the country with Lucie was a great opportunity for you and I’m glad so we got to meet you besides the infamous Lucie. We sure did have some fun and excitement.

      Like

      • Yes we did Hey flirting was fun you should have seen how I got to cab I just step out and yell taxi and he stop and boy was he cute I took of picture of him and I still got it after all these year Hey he wasn’t the only guy I flirt with . This not even Franne knows about oh wait never mind I kept this secret for years lOL

        Sweet Pea

        Like

        • Sweat Pea aka Susie,

          I kind of fudged my story about London. I did flirt with a fireman while there. And he was a real cutie. We locked eyes and smiled at one another for a very long time. Too bad he was off to a fire but stuck in the middle of a traffic jam at the time or we could have had some drinks together. 😀

          btw, I also took a pic of the fireman.

          Like

      • Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr I quote the slogan on my new coffee cup FEAR THE PURPLE
        Sweet Pea seems to have more secrets than can be hidden in the average bed post!

        Like

        • Okay I’ll tell
          I also flirted with the men in the coffee shop in England getting your coffee wasn’t the only reason I went there

          Sweet Pea

          Like

  9. I gotta agree with Willi. The lions would have TRULY done a miracle if they had eaten the scumbags for lunch. Hey, lions. If you read this, I hear Beano’s Horseradish Spread is EXCELLENT on scumbag. A little swirl rye bread, iceberg lettuce, pickles, olives, and a couple slices of sweet white onion, a fine dark stout ale, SHEEEIT, don’t get better n’ that.

    Like

    • Well,

      Hi there clyde. I assume you are back home safely from the sunshine of Florida. So welcome back.

      I also agree with Willi those lions should have eaten the evil doers if they got the chance. Too bad they found the girl later after all the damage had been done to her.

      That recipe for spreading on a scumbag almost sounds too good for the scum of this earth,. But, I’ll go with it.

      Like

  10. I apologize to all for my late responses but the storms in our area caused a lot of internet problems the last couple of days.

    Like

  11. Oh, this is such a beautiful story, Pepp. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  12. THat is definately something I can’t figure out. I’d say a miracle. I have no problem saying miracles do happen. And I’d say God just often uses other people or circumstances to do them too. So why not an animal?

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

