Wicked Commentary

Our Readers’ Pets

Just to break the tension, today is a small gallery of some of our Reader’s Pets.  I hope you all enjoy seeing each others’ pets, both dogs and cats.  Let’s have a big smile day for our beloved animals!

Boe and Holli Beari

PorkChop the fly catcher Jeff's dog

Buddy, Jeff's dog

Barney and Buster clyde's dogs revised

Miss Missy

Missy’s real name is Miss Missy.  Lucie aka Purplegimp just recently rescued her from a shelter and she has made herself right at home with Purplegimp and I guess she doesn’t mind the sirens when the Hizzbullies launch rockets over the border. 

Baby and Renny the cat

Dogged lost his beloved Baby during Hurricane Sandy.  Condolences for his loss.  Cat Renee fills some of the hole in the soul we hope.

pics 025Our friend Just Gene says Pal is a mix.  He really is not too sure on that but he can come on the blog and let us know more.

Dawn's Dogs

Dawn Dawn and hubby live in Mexico.  I do not recall the dogs names.  😦  Sorry Dawn)

Cindy's dogThis is my friend Cindy’s and we live on one of her husband’s and her farms.  Cindy always has a dog by her side for her hikes on the farm for protection and just plain fun.

Zima, the White Princess Brat 005As you all know this is the Hawk’s beloved Zima, a brat!

Merlin resized and croppedOf course everyone knows Merlin is my loyal and best friend.  I am so glad I had him by my side after the loss of Dakota in January. He suffers terribly with separation anxiety when I’m not around.  Sniff, sniff.

Smoke_a_Smoke Susie's DogThis is only one of Susie’s many pets.  It seems she can’t leave a dog without a home.  Good hearted Susie!

Susie Cat 2

Lily Susie's cat

Susie's Dog SandyI left Susie’s dog Sandy last because Susie just lost Sandy on March 27, 2013.  Susie wrote a little story about her Sandy and wants to share that with everyone. The following is from Susie:

Sandy came to my sister Cindy when she lived with her husband. She was owned by a man next door. There was a hole in the fence between the two houses and Sandy would come in Cindy’s yard. One morning around 2 Sandy was barking and scratching at Cindy’s door. Cindy let her in and in the morning Cindy went over and told the man she wanted to keep Sandy since he never had time for her. The man gave in and Sandy became Cindy’s dog.

In 2007 Cindy’s husband passed away and she came to live with me and her pets became ours as well.

Sandy would jump on you to greet you and when Cindy lived with her husband whenever I came to visit Sandy would role in the grass with me. She loved our cat Lily and they would always lie together.

Sandy loved everyone. She was part collie and golden lab. Other people loved her too and one day some one offered Cindy $1000 for her but Cindy told her she wouldn’t take a million for her.

When she was a pup Cindy had a roll-away bed and Sandy chewed a whole in the middle out of it. Sandy loved to ride in a car and look out of the window.

Lizzie, Cindy’s other dog and Sandy would fight to see who sat on Cindy’s lap. Lizzie usually won.

Sandy was a good dog

She came to Cindy on July 1997.

She passed away on March 27 2013.  Our beloved Sandy will be missed.

We encourage everyone to tell stories about their dogs or cats and have some fun with it.  All and any stories you can think of.  All of us want to know more about the adorable pets we  have on this article.  They are all so cute and/or handsome.  Or beautiful, whatever you may think of them.  We so love our pets and what would we do without them?  I certainly would have a hard time doing without my  dog and Hawk with his cat, especially after losing his two wonderful shepherds, Shadow and Foxy.  This is the first time the Hawk has had a cat and he is learning more about her every day.

Also I thank all of those who sent picture to me for this article.

Comments on: "Our Readers’ Pets" (73)

  1. Gar Swaffar said:

    Critters!!!!!!!!! Can’t live with them, and can’t live without them!

    Like

    • Gar,

      LOL! Yeah, they can be a nuisance sometimes, but ya just can’t live without them, at least for me.

      Like

      • Gar Swaffar said:

        And when the Shiites hit the fan button, those who raise cats have a ready made, never ending food supply.

        Like

        • Gar,

          Ewwww! You’re right though. Everything one can get to eat will be on the menu.
          For us, fortunately we are plentiful with deer, rabbits, squirrels, geese, wild turkeys,etc. Gosh, I know Princess Zima would not like being eaten.

          Like

          • Gar Swaffar said:

            Venison is good, however; two trips to South-East Asia taught me the joy of catacos, monkey on a stick (crispy was best) and the assorted critter du jour. I also found out that if a rabbit and a cat are placed side by side in a skillet of heavy cream w/ dijon mustard, they cannot be told apart.

            Like

          • Gar,

            Yes, venison is very good when cooked properly and the sausage made from it is outstanding.

            So you ate monkeys, crispy that is and found them to be good. I wonder where we can get monkeys to eat.

            Interesting about the squirrel and cat dinner. Sounds scrumptious. I once ate a stew from KY called burgoo. It has rabbit, squirrel and something else in it but it was the best stew I’ve ever eaten. I must get the recipe for that for future meals.

            Like

  2. Davetherave said:

    Awesome Pepp! I so miss having a dog and low and behold Willi’s dog looks just like the first dog I got when I was just a little one at the age of two. There is no way I can pick a favorite from the pics you put up, but Lord knows how my heart aches missing my black lab….the first pet of my son that quickly became my best friend.

    Like

    • Thanks Dave,

      Aw, so Willi’s dog was just like your first eh? Seems like a good doggie for a child and obviously Willibeaux loves his. It’s too bad your black dog is gone and I know your heart still aches over missing him. Mine is still broken over Dakota.

      Nay, there’s no way to pick a favorite. They are all handsome dogs and cute cats in my book.

      Like

  3. My my my, don’t we have some wonderful pets. I’ve had the honor of meeting a few of them, St. Gracie and Hawk’s, and Cindy’s, not to mention Susie’s. On my trip over there in 2006, I stayed at her house and one of the cats decided I needed watching and promptly settled on me to sleep. Sandy decided that both the cat and I needed watched and settled in to sleep on the floor next to me and the cat. It’s fair to say that her house is a happy menagerie of happy pets and their humans. What would we do without them to watch over us?
    You did a great job with this, St. Gracie!

    Like

    • Lucie,

      Thanks for the compliment.

      You sure did get the honor of meeting some of these dogs.

      That’s a cute story about Susie’s cat and then Sandy deciding you both needed watching. she sure was right about YOU! You needed more watching than that cat did I’m sure. 😀

      I really don’t know what we’d do without them watching over us and choosing us to be their humans.

      Zima has made a friend with another cat outside. She’s a pretty cat who has been here living in the barn for sometime. Now she’s coming up on our porch wanting food. We felt so sorry for her we now feed her. She eats like she’s starved but I’m sure she can catch food. She’s been living on her own for several years now. And she’s a beauty with long blondish/brown hair with green eyes like Zima’s. For all we know Zima might be one of her offspring.

      Like

      • That what Belle did last summer now she is ours and as soon as I can I will send a picture of Belle She is a calico and she has the cutest face yellow on one side and black on the other and white in the middle

        Like

        • Susie,

          Cool! I’d like to see Belle. She sounds so pretty and I’m sure she’s a good pet since you are so good to your animals. I imagine there is no animal that does not like you.

          Like

          • I’ll get a picture as soon as I can sorry not all animals like me some bark at me LOL

            Like

          • Sorry no whiter on Belle face

            Like

          • Only some dogs but I have never been bitten I remember one day I was coming out of the woods that lead to a street and this big dog came charging at me barking and showing his teeth . I was too scared to move once he got there he jump up at me and lick my face like crazy as if he was saying where have you been. I will never forget that day. Another time I found a pinscher and I am scared of them but she was lost and her address was on her tag and there was a long chain on her collar I was more afraid that she would get caught so I took up the chain let her sniff me guess I managed not to show fill because I walk her home and her own was so glad to see her I got a piece of cake and lemon ade

            Like

          • Susie,

            I’ve never been bitten by a dog either. That is an interesting encounter with that dog running full bore at you with his teeth and barking. On the face of it that doesn’t bode well. But, then he greets you like a long lost friend.

            That was really fearless of you to take that Doberman home to its’ owners. I’m a little afraid of them too, but I usually show no fear with any strange dog because if they know you’re afraid they see you as a victim they can control.

            Nice that you got a small reward for your efforts.

            Dakota escaped from me a number of times when I lived at the condo, and someone would bring him back to me because he had an ID on him too. It’s always best to have that tag on them.

            When Hawk brought his 2 (trained to kill guard dog shepherds) down here, he told me not to get near them. He was afraid they would kill me because they had never allowed anyone near them. But, Hawk would be asleep and I had to feed them dinner and not once did those dogs behave mean to me. In about a month I had them eating out of my hand and Hawk is still to this day in shock over how they took to me. LOL!

            Like

          • You as well as me and almost anyone with a love for dogs can be friends with dogs all you need is trust

            Like

    • I think pets, animals in general, are like a counterbalance to everything else. At least that’s how I see my dogs. Pepp, I bet Merlin said ” she finally did a post I can appreciate”. 🙂
      A friend of mine works for a vet and she is constantly talking about new and different ones that pass through like a whole bunch of personalities. I have a hard time remembering when I didn’t have some kind of dog, and usually not by my choosing but voila, “I’m here”. I came to think pets find owners too.

      Like

      • Bull,

        I so agree. Pets are a counterbalance in our lives and I can never see myself without a pet. They give us so much and don’t ask for all that much in return except to be fed and loved.

        Ha, ha, yeah, Merlin would appreciate this article all right. He’s a show off.

        Yes, I too believe our pets choose us. When I got Dakota I was picking up a bunch of corgis, but Dakota was standing off to the side watching this and when it was his turn, he jumped into my arms and gave the biggest hug you could imagine and stayed like that with his little face right up against mine. At that moment I knew he was the one because “he chose me”. And it worked out so well.

        The same happened when we went to look at Merlin. He too jumped straight into my arms and was giving me doggie kisses all over my face. I knew he chose me too and off we went with him as a little pup riding home on my lap. I can barely believe it now since he’s so big he can’t just sit on my lap anymore. 😀

        Like

        • My dogs found me each time. Ragamuffin was under my chair at our local Social Security office terrifying an Arab woman sitting not far from me. I picked her up and the stupid woman calmed right down. Before I left the building I asked in all the offices if she belonged to anyone and took her home in my coat pocket. She was just such a tiny little thing. Then, about a year later Pegasus arrived in the neighborhood and went on a trash the place spree. He knocked over all the trash cans and tore up gardens. People were starting to threaten him. so I took him in. Those two together were something else. Ragamuffin was the boss of us all. She was a Westie, he was a Keeshond,and I was their human. When I finally left that neighborhood, everyone wanted him. No way was I leaving him with them! Miss Missy decided the issue for us herself by hopping into the car with me. That was it! We humans don’t have much of a say in who our pets will be. They make the important decisions for us. As it should be.

          Like

    • Franne you were protected by my cat Pouncer who pass away last year. She usually didn’t like strangers but she knew you were a good person

      Like

      • Susie,

        It seems all dog and cats like Lucie immediately. I was a bit shocked how Merlin and Dakota took to both you and Lucie when you all visited here. They were in dog heaven with you two.

        Like

        • They were both just so sweet and I like them

          Like

        • I remember you telling me how worried Hawk was about us meeting Merlin. Boy did he ever get that one wrong! Merlin couldn’t have been sweeter. And Dakota was the first one to greet us when the bitch in the box finally found your house!

          Like

          • goshawk3 said:

            Yeah that was a surprise. He took to you an Susie right away.

            Like

          • Lucie,

            Yeah, Hawk was fearful especially about Merlin. But, they were friends instantly to you and Susie. I was so glad. I sure do remember Dakota going out to the car to greet you and Susie. It was so darn cute. Ya know my neighbor and I called Dakota the Walmart greeter because he loved meeting just about anyone.

            Like

  4. St. Gracie,
    What is it with dogs (mine) having to watch my every move? Miss Missy won’t even let me go to the loo alone. She has to come in, plant her little butt firmly on the floor in front of me and inspect every move I make. I always wonder what she’ll do if I do it wrong…….She’s making quite a name for herself as an interior decorator. We have flushing issues in this area of town, so everything goes in a bin with a trash bag liner and a lid. If I forget to close the loo door when I leave, she goes in, knocks the lid off and starts decorating the whole house with used papery products from the bin. The I get to roll around with my picker upperer and put it all back in the bin.
    One day she got hold of a radish that escaped from me, only to wind up in Miss Missy’s tender paws. She batted that radish from here to next year before chasing it into my room and somehow flipping it up to my bed to have it land square in the bowl that was waiting for her to clean.
    During the figure skating championships she sat with me and watched from beginning to end with great interest. I’m just so glad she decided that I would be her human. I guess she knew right away that I’m easily trainable……………………… She sure got THAT right!

    Like

    • Lucie,

      Our dogs want to be with us all the time therefore they watch everything we do. Ha, ha, Merlin doesn’t like being shut out of the loo either. And Dakota just had to be in there with me as well as my cat Tosca who is long gone now.

      That’s hilarious about Missy decorating your house. LOL! She must think things look better with those nice little bog things all over the house. Dogs just like to get into things. Merlin constantly gets into the trash. Dakota used to knock it over so he could forage through it. We have to make sure we remove chicken bones out of the house into a garbage bag in the mudroom. Chicken bones can easily kill a dog. That’s what killed Foxy.
      She found the Mexicans trash where they had a chicken box and ate the bones.

      Oh, what a funny thing chasing a radish about. And stunning she flipped it into the bowl. Wow, great basketball player she’d be.

      Merlin is an avid ball player. It’s his all time favorite play thing he likes me to do. I tell him he’s a great ball player and we’ll get him on the Red’s team. :-D. I’m a loon so you understand the humor.

      Merlin got a potato off of something, a raw one and took it into the living room where he shredded to pieces all over the couch and the floor. Like you I picked up dozens of pieces and had to clean the couch. Argh!

      It’s interesting that Missy watches TV. Merlin will lie on the bed with me, but he never watches the TV. Dakota would bark when some dog on the TV barked on some show and he’d run all over the place trying to find that dog. That was funny.

      I never thought of you being “easily trainable” but Missy has your number all right. I’m glad she picked you too to be her human. It’s a match made in Heaven for you and Missy.

      Like

      • I got to agree and share this about Sandy When Cindy lived with her husband they didn’t have a door in the bathroom and whenever Cindy or me would go to the bathroom Sandy would sit in front of us so her husband wouldn’t see what he wasn’t suppose to see. LOL she knew

        Like

  5. goshawk3 said:

    Pepp,

    What a pleasant surprise! All these pictures of the readers pet’s is a pleasure to gaze upon. One small correction though. ZIma is not “My” cat. I’m Her servant! 🙂

    Like

  6. Hawk, I think slave is closer to an accurate description of your relationship to Zima! You are her slave!

    Like

  7. Just Gene said:

    Pal is a Newfoundland/Labrador mix – a Goofy Newfy/Fab Lab. Don’t you think he would make a great ad for GOT MILK?
    luvya

    Like

    • Just Gene,

      I’m glad you straightened that out for us. A Newfy/Fab lab. Yeah, she’d be good for the ad. I think she is beautiful and you can definitely see the Newfy in her. One time while at the vet with my dog, a man brought in what looked like a baby bear. All of us waiting were so curious as to what the dog was and it was a purebred Newfy. Wow, they are so big!

      Like

    • JG and Pepp,

      Yea, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Pal and he is every bit as bashful as he looks. Now that I see the labs above, it does fit. The waves are like part of the personality. A shame he is such a recluse. 🙂

      Like

  8. You sure outdid yourself. Great stuff.

    Like

    • Bull,

      Thanks and your two dogs are so cute. I love looking at the pictures of the dogs even now after I did so much work on the pics for the article.

      Like

      • Thanks, they’d like that. I think you have a buch of stars there. But I laugh everytime I see the princess Zima.

        Like

        • Bull,

          Yeah, every one of these dogs are stars to me. I love them all just looking at them. I just about love every dog I’ve ever seen. The only trouble I ever had was one time when walking Dakota in the park a chow tried to attack him. It was odd because every Sunday we took this path into the woods and would run into this couple with the chow and he seemed friendly enough. So he just turned on Dakota and shocked all of us. I don’t know why.

          Oh, yeah, Zima is a princess and she acts like one. Of course Hawk has treated her like a princess so why wouldn’t she think she was one. She sure knows how to manipulate the Hawk and he spoils her rotten.

          Like

          • goshawk3 said:

            Do not… It’s just that since you bought me that giant “Cat” book to learn about cat’s, I’ve had to spend a lot of..er..’study?’ time with her. 🙂

            Like

          • Hawk
            Now come on. I got you that book so you would train her and know what to do under any given circumstance. LOL! Oh, no, you don’t spoil her one bit! Laughable. That one goes into the Guiness Book of Records. 😀

            Like

          • Hawk- Pepp,

            Ah, so “study” is the new word for spoiled. Okay, I’ll take “study” for a thousand.

            Like

          • Bull,

            Don’t ya just love the Hawk’s wording on that? Study! He’s being a nut today kidding me about everything.

            Like

          • goshawk3 said:

            Hi Bull,

            Yeah well, it’s necessary that I spend lots of time “studying” the cat. For one thing she’s teaching me to understand her language. Yep, I’ve learned a lot from her. As her master I’ve learned a whole sack full of demands she tells me to do for her.

            Like

      • Pepp, Buddy came by way of a nurse looking for a home for him.(Dacshund) I think Hawk is on to something because he thinks I belong to him. (can’t change that). He’s the only dog I know that likes sauerkraut. My son got Pork Chop somewhere and named her, and then I pretty much adopted her. She’s beagle and maybe something else but I don’t know what. (she’s hiding it) She thinks she is the lady of the house. Budddy is getting old so she teases him with any attention she can get . Both admittedly spoiled.

        Like

        • Bull,

          So your dogs were strays looking for a home I take it. That’s nice you took them in and they are so darn cute. So Buddy thinks he owns you eh? Oh, is it not so true? I think all of our dogs and cats think they own us. Sauerkraut? Well, that’s different. Merlin likes brussel sprouts.

          LOL! So Porkchop is a female and of course she thinks she owns the house being a female. We females are so territorial and our houses are our nests.

          Ah well, I can’t think of one good dog owner who does not spoil them. Ours are spoiled rotten.

          Like

  9. I agree with that our pets choose us. Every pet we ever had choose us .I also believed that our departed pets spirits go into another animal. Let me explain Annie my cat was hit by a car on Sept. 14 2011 a year later Belle show up. Annie loved to heard me sing so does Belle Annie would come when I whistle so does Belle Annie would greet me when I came home so does Belle Annie would sit on my lap while I was on the laptop so does Belle . See what I mean?

    Like

    • Susie,

      I also believe in what you said about our departed pets coming back to us in the form of another pet. I see the same thing in how Merlin acts so much like Dakota in so many ways. And he came into my life with knowing Dakota did not have many years left. Also he came into our lives right after, a day I believe, when Hawk lost his wonderful beloved Shadow. The Hawk was devastated and said he’d never have another dog. So I had been looking on the internet quietly trying to pick out a new German shepherd, which would be mine, but he would still have the joy of having a German shep since they are his favorite dogs and has had them all of his life.

      You should have seen the great big smile the Hawk had on his face while we were driving Merlin home on my lap. He was so joyful.

      Like

    • Susie, I think you might be on to something there. Miss Missy not only looks a lot like Ragamuffin, she acts a lot like her too. And I think she sees Pegasus’s spirit here too. She does a very Ragamuffin at growl at nothing I can see, just like Raggy used to do at him any time it looked like he was thinking about coming up on the bed with us. It’s a little spooky.

      Like

  10. I sure enjoyed seeing pics of everyone’s loved pets. After we had to put our last cat to sleep, we have not been able to get another. Our Samantha was the best cat ever. She would wake us up in the morning – to be sure we got off to work on time. She was such a loyal cat. Whenever we were gone and came in the door, Samantha would run to greet us. Maybe one day we will get another cat…

    Like

    • Donna,

      I’m glad you enjoyed the pets. I’m sorry about Samantha. I thought you still had a cat.

      My cat Tosca used to do the same thing as Samantha, come running to the door to greet me when I came home from work. It was almost like having a dog.

      Like

  11. Hey pepp! Love all the pet pics. Sorry I haven’t sent mine to you. The last couple of months have been a little trying. My husband had a bad fall Feb 1 and has many health issues related to that. In addition to that he began having flu-like symptoms, chills and high fever, unable to eat, but docs couldn’t figure out the problem without CT-scans, etc., which we couldn’t afford. He tuffed it out and is beginning to get back on his feet. We are so thankful for that. Spring is finally peeking out and we are hoping to tackle some major down-sizing around here. My best to you and hawk and to all your other readers!

    Like

    • Howdy FOH,

      Good to see ya. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear you hubby took a bad fall and all the illness afterward. I’m glad too nothing was found. We also turn down things like MRI’s and Catscans due to the cost. I ask the doc is it really necessary and if not I don’t want it. There have been times though I had to have them and it was necessary.

      Spring is starting here too and I’m wanting to downsize too. I’ve been trying to get rid of some things. Material things don’t mean much to us any longer and sometimes I look around and think, oh, if only this place wasn’t jammed with stuff.

      Our best to you FOH and God bless you.

      Like

  12. Good stuff. We are packed up heading for home tomorrow,check in when I get home and settled in. Keep the faith,y’all.

    Like

  13. Pepp, when I showed Max all of the attractive pooches you’ve honored, he gave me a hard time about not getting his picture up as well. I promised him that I’d send a picture for your next episode of pictures. Now, how do I do that? I see two e-mail accounts – which do you prefer. If you’re no longer accepting pictures, not a problem, just let me know. Thanx and Max says “Arf arf.”

    Like

    • Garnet,

      I’ll send you an email and send me the pic of your Max and edit this article to put him into it so he doesn’t get really angry. LOL!!

      Like

      • Gar Swaffar said:

        Dog was interchangeable with monkey in the Philippines, it all looks the same on a stick.

        Like

        • Gar,

          Well, I hope I never have to eat my dog. So monkeys and dogs taste the same?
          Oh boy, the Hawk will be hunting deer a lot I suspect. Now he needs to learn how to cook those Canadian geese better however. It didn’t turn out too good the first time, but the dogs loved it.

          The wild turkey got away from him. He shot it down and couldn’t find it in the brush. I told him to have the dogs go after it. It must have been hiding. I wonder how racoons taste. He’s shot them too, but we didn’t eat one.

          Like

  14. I send Pat a picture of my new baby Belle and yes everyone of my mom me and my sister Belle pick me as her favorite . My Southern Belle loves me and I love her

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

