Wicked Commentary

Dedicated To DavetheRave

For  Dave

Our Fearless Warrior

Dave is a bit concerned about his visit with us coming up at some point this spring or summer because of my German Shep, Merlin.  So I’ll just post a few pics of my beloved dog so Dave doesn’t have to fear anything. 

After all Merlin is a loving, playful dog.  I’m  sure if  Dave wanted to play ball with Merlin he would make a fast friendship with him. Some of the pictures may be a bit blurred since these are clips from a movie we made and Merlin is so fast that the clips were sometimes blurred a bit.

MVI_002614

Just look how I can put my whole hand into his jaws and get the ball from him.  He doesn’t even try to bite on my hand. So don’t worry about those jaws Dave. See how safe it is!

MVI_002613It is so easy to do and he is not hurting me at all, Dave. Good Puppy!

MVI_00268Aw, he has his precious ball ready for someone to throw it for him to catch.

IMG_0022Here he is patiently waiting for the Hawk to get that ball and throw it.  He has tons of patience.  He will stand there for a half hour waiting.

MVI_00269Merlin is looking back to make sure he is watching where we throw the ball to make sure he can catch it.  He doesn’t miss a thing even if you try to trick him.  It’s impossible to do.

MVI_002616Oh great, I get to fly up in the air and catch this one.  That is Merlin’s favorite way to catch balls.  When he was a pup, he had to jump real high to do it.  Now that he is an adult doggie, he just has to stand on his hind legs to get that ball.  Now do you think Merlin still looks like something between a wolf and a bear Dave?

Merlin Jan 23 2013 003Dave do you still think he is so big?  LMAO!

Comments on: "Dedicated To DavetheRave" (114)

  1. Susie Owens said:

    Dave I know you don’t know me .I am a friend of Pat’s and along with her great friend Lucie we spend a whole week with Pepp and Hawk and let me tell you Merlin is a sweetheart

    Like

    • Susie,

      Thanks, he sure was a sweetheart when you and Lucie showed up at our house. I recall how Merlin wanted to get out of his crate so bad to meet you two. And he was lovable the whole the time. He was in dog heaven having 3 women giving him so much attention. That was some visit. We had so much fun.

      Like

      • Pepp: My guess is Merlin is much more drawn to
        females, as he envisions himself as a “lover” of
        all things female, right? Just like my beloved Chow/
        Shep mix & my Rottweiler. Funny thing w/those 2 is
        that the Rottweiler WAS the much more sociable &
        friendlier of the 2, but people were invariably drawn
        to the Chow/Shep mix, because they found he looked
        “so adorable”! ROFLMFAO, because he was far more
        likely to be “territorial” or “aggressive” than was the
        big, lovable, goofball, Rottweiler, who just looked im-
        posing, unless one was actually threatening anyone.
        Most dogs are intelligent enough to discern between
        those who could be a threat to their beloved “pack” or
        family & those who are benign & friendly!

        Like

        • Sorry–hate it when it spaces out like that!

          Like

          • Merlin IS absolutely gorgeous & I feel
            sure that Dave has nothing whatsoever
            to fear from him!! He will probably sense
            right away that Dave is a friend!

            Like

          • Elizabeth,

            Thank you so much on the compliment about Merlin. He is gorgeous and we get a lot of comments at the vet on how beautiful he is.

            Now I wonder where Dave is. I was sure he’d show up before now to add his colorful comments. LOL! As soon as Merlin knows he is a friend Merlin will be fine with him.

            There are Mexican workers on the farm here. They come in May and leave in December. Now Merlin just simply hates them. But maybe it’s because of the glares they give me, ones that could kill if stares could do so. Brrrrrrrrrrr……………..

            Like

            • Pepp: That is Merlin, responding to the
              threats that these itinerant workers have
              towards you & your family, as evidenced
              by those glares directed towards you!
              Merlin can sense the evil intentions &
              nefarious thoughts, even if they are not
              spoken out loud & Merlin is letting you
              know these people are NOT to be trusted!
              I always say one should trust a dogs inborn
              instincts regarding people!! Merlin is simply
              watching over you & protecting you!! Dogs
              are an excellent judge of character!

              Like

          • Howdy Elizabeth,

            I’ve been a die hard dog lover my entire life and I’ve never had a single problem making friends with dogs, because they can sense I’m no threat and I love dogs. I just pray that Merlin is really fast witted to pick that up!!!!!! 🙂

            Like

            • Dave: Not to fear, Merlin sounds & looks EXTREMELY
              intelligent & I’m sure he will pick on your character right
              away–although the fact that you’re a guy, might cause
              a slightly delayed response . . . no, I’m sure you’ll be
              just fine!! LOL Ya’ll let me know how all that works out,
              okay? I’m dying to hear all about it! LOL

              Like

        • Elizabeth,

          I do think since I am his master, he is drawn to females quite fine. He has a BIG problem when there are workmen in here. He just can’t stand it and barks viciously at them. We try to stop him, then he just lies there growling at them. Lovely!! But, we crate him when strangers have to come into the house to make sure he doesn’t maul them. Hee, hee!

          That is funny about how people are drawn to your chow-Shep mix because chows can be particularly dangerous. I too have met up with Rotties who are just adorable and friendly. If they are mean it’s because the owner made them that way. But with a chow mix, I know chows can be unpredictable.

          I know of 3 chows that were fairly vicious as it’s a part of them to sometimes be that way. They seem to turn on ya without any notice. I used to walk Dakota in our favorite park and we would meet up with this chow every Sunday. He was fine with me and Dakota, then suddenly one Sunday he just got mean with us. Strange.

          Merlin is fine with family and friends. He is lovable with those he knows are not
          dangerous to me. Otherwise he is not.

          Don’t worry about the small things like comments spaced odd. No need to sweat the small things is Hawk’s and my new motto.

          Like

          • I absolutely agree with your entire
            assessment! Dogs are quite per-
            ceptive & a good judge of character,
            I have found. None of my dogs has
            EVER been welcoming of ANY strange
            man in the house & a funny story re
            this: Once my late hubby’s friend came
            over to visit & he put some hot sauce in
            the Chow’s saucer of beer (this Chow,
            Thor, LOVED his beer) & laughed
            about it! I told him that it was not a good
            idea, but was dismissed as trying to inter-
            fere with a ‘harmless prank’. Thor was
            NOT pleased & knew right away who
            was responsible as he growled at this
            guy & glared at him. About an hour later,
            this guy disappeared & we went looking
            for him–found him trapped in the hall
            bathroom, with Thor stationed outside,
            refusing to let him leave! Okey claimed
            that Thor “growled & showed his teeth”
            every time he tried to open the door to
            exit & we weren’t aware of his dilemma
            for more than 15 minutes that he was
            “held hostage” by the target of his prank!
            LOL!! We always had to put Thor in a back
            bedroom when strange men came in the
            house & monitor all other dogs, but the
            Chow/Shepherd WAS the most unpredic-
            table & potentially dangerous of all the
            dogs I have ever had. Merlin is so down-
            right gorgeous that I bet people are drawn
            to him & try to pet him all the time!!

            Like

          • Elizabeth,

            That is one hilarious story about your Rottie. The man deserved it. Ya don’t give a dog hot sauce like that for bloody sake.

            LMAO! Held hostage! Oh, so funny coming from that wimp of a man.
            Your Rottie just gave that man what he had coming to him. I just love he had him stuck in the bathroom. I’m just rolling off my chair with that story.

            I “always” trust my dogs instincts. Even Dakota was a great watchdog and he knew when someone was unsafe. He backed off a man trying to cross the street where we were walking one night. Dakota stood there in a fighting stance until the hooded guy just backed off. Dakota was giving the guy some very vicious barks and growls. After that I turned around and went back home.

            Right, Merlin knows those Mexicans don’t like me. Why I have no idea. I’ve never even talked to them. I have the feeling they were greatly disturbed to find we had another German Shep after Hawk’s two sheps died. They also hated those workers. One really dumb one came up to the cage where the Hawk’s dogs were and Shadow went ballistic.

            The Hawk came out and told the fool to never approach the dogs. If Shadow wanted to he could have jumped over that cage and onto the Mexican. But, the Hawk went out to see what all the commotion was about before Shadow tried it.

            When Merlin was younger he kind of liked people approaching him to pet him. But not now. We have to be very careful with him. We usually keep Dakota outside until the vet is ready to take him. He seems OK with the vet but now he doesn’t like going there anymore. LOL!

            Like

            • I always think that if a person seems daunted by the
              presence of good, vigilant watchdogs, than they are
              NOT to be trusted & I almost always trust the instinct
              of my dogs. Years ago, I learned this lesson, when my
              Shepherd/Husky mix lunged at a man as I was walking
              home from the park; I was not aware of the danger or
              threat represented by this man, as I took him for another
              of the pathetic, homeless specimens that were commonly
              to be seen in our neighborhood. But my dog knew better
              & first I felt the deep growl emanating up from the leash,
              followed by the quick lunge to meet the man’s forward
              move towards us! I was just walking along, with my head
              ducked into my coat, to avoid the cold wind, totally un-
              aware of any danger. Those Mexican workers could be
              threatened by the dogs, because their very presence
              would thwart any possible chance of ya’ll suffering any
              criminal act that wouldn’t be made extremely difficult due
              to those dogs being there! Dogs are our “early warning
              system”, letting us know of danger, many times before
              we are aware of its presence! Ya’ll take care!

              Like

        • Susie came up with the answer to the question of how to make Merlin adore Dave from the minute he arrives. He must put on a dress, high heels, make up and perfume so that Merlin will think he’s a woman! End of problem!

          Like

          • Hawk and talked about that tonight and we thought perhaps, even Dave dressed as a woman Merlin may be able to smell he’s a man since women and men have different natural odors. Hawk said then Merlin would be having a fit trying to figure out just what the hell he was. LOL!

            Like

          • I still like the idea and image it brings to mind. 🙂

            Like

      • Dave,

        Merlin is very quick witted. So no problem there.

        Like

        • Elizabeth,

          I have become to think of dogs best friend being women the way they warn and protect us when danger looms. That is some story about that man behind you, but your dog took care of that one, thank God. There is no doubt in my mind with all 3 shepherds not liking those Mexican workers that they sensed danger of some sort. Merlin was using his muscle to let them know if you come near my master you are dead meat. Hee, hee. Of course then I’d get charged with a criminal offense and I’d be the one to go to jail over it. Isn’t that how the system works these days? The innocent ones go to jail instead of the criminals. Great liberal loons policies.

          Like

        • Elizabeth & Pepp,

          Sheps are one the very smartest bread of dogs for sure. I just hope Merlin is on top of his game that day! On small hesitation and oops…there goes Dave’s left leg….

          Like

          • Dave: Hey there! I’m sure you have
            absolutely nothing to fear from Merlin.
            He will instinctively sense your sterling,
            good-natured character & will respond
            accordingly with no mauling or forceful
            amputation of protruding body parts in-
            volved! The two of you are destined to
            become the best of buddies!

            Like

          • Dave,

            He won’t have a chance to take your leg off because we’d never allow him to do that. Of course, that remains to be seen if he breaks out of his crate and goes after you. Not to worry you though. 😀

            Like

          • Hey there back at ya’ Elizabeth! I hope you’re feeling better and your son and sister are both well! Thanks for you kind words to comfort me. Of course Pepp just can’t seem to wait and come right behind and take that comfort right away!!! 🙂

            Come on Pepp…throw me a bone! And no that’s not a opening for you to jump on and turn it around to me being thrown to Merlin as a bone!! 😀

            Like

          • Dave,

            I’ve been pondering on what size of bone to get you to throw to you. Would you like the huge ones Merlin chews on or the smaller ones that Dakota used to chew? Tell me your preference. Now, I wouldn’t go and chew on it in front of Merlin of course. That could be very dangerous. He’d want that bone taken from you since he considers they are his. But, then again he’s always been pretty good about sharing his bones, especially the ones he got from the UPS guy. 😀

            Like

          • Pepp…LMAO! No need to worry about getting me a bone to chew on. I’ve already chewed almost all my fingers down to nubs… 😀

            Like

    • HI Susie,

      Pepp keeps telling me that Merlin really is a sweetheart ONCE he knows your not going to hurt Pepp or Hawk. The one minor issue that keeps getting left out of the info (that for some reason is VERY important to me) is…just how long does it take for him to reach that point and EXACTLY how do they know when he’s reached that point? What? Finally they let him out of his cage and IF he doesn’t digest me THEN they know everything is cool???? 🙂

      Like

      • Dave,

        Susie can attest to the lovableness of Merlin. I do think he likes women more than men though. Hee, hee! How do we know exactly when Merlin is ready to accept you? Well, it’s by luck. LMAO!

        Like

        • Susie Owens said:

          It took only a few minutes for Merlin to love me

          Like

        • Gee Pepp…thanks! Luck???? There’s a lot of people that have depended on luck and ended up on the 11:00 news! …”Dog swallows man whole. Details at 11:00″…

          Like

          • Dave: C’mon on now–you said you’re
            a sturdy specimen, so I’m quite sure a
            dog like Merlin wouldn’t be able to de-
            vour you whole–it would surely take him
            more than one bite, by which time I’m
            sure someone would have responded to
            your cries of alarm &/or calls for assist-
            ance, etc, right? LOL We should all stop
            teasing, or you’ll be afraid to step across
            the threshold. Just remember that dogs
            can sense fear or trepidation . . .

            Like

          • Dave,

            That would be really big news here so everyone in town would know it before it hit the local news in Lexington.

            Wow! I can see the headlines now, “‘Huge Wolf attacks Man who was dismembered before his eyes. Died peacefully in his sleep.” “Owners being charged with manslaughter”.

            Like

          • Elizabeth,

            You make an excellent point. Dogs sense fear and believe they have the power to overtake you once the fear is smelled. When the Hawk brought his two trained attack dogs out here, I never showed fear of them. Knowing if I did they would know they could take advantage of me. The Hawk was utterly flabbergasted. No one had ever been able to approach those dogs before and I mean no one. Not even his family members but they probably sensed the fear those people had.
            I had them eating out of my hand in no time. Once again putting Hawk in a state of shock.

            Like

          • Elizabeth and Pepp,

            Your words are just so comforting!! Thanks…

            Well hell Pepp, seeing how the ‘awk has to go through the misery of coming to my liberal bastion from hell I guess it’s only fair I come down to your Petting Zoo from Hell!! As in Merlin looks like a hell hound and I may be a lost soul!!!

            Like

          • Dave,

            Yes, I think it only fair that you come up here where you can enjoy the peace and quiet of the rural life. The Hawk does have a HUGE problem having to go to Lexington, the liberal HELL HOLE!

            Aw, Petting Zoo from Hell. Just think, you’ll get to pet more than just Merlin. You can pet the cows too. They like it. I’d stay away from those bulls though. They can get meaner than Merlin and gore ya in seconds.

            Don’t get too worried either about runaway cows stampeding in our front yard either. The Amish round them up pretty fast on their horses. Be a real treat for ya. Or baby pigs running thru the backyard.

            Oh and the BIG one! The sounds of the coyotes at night either hunting or having fun, yip yapping their vocal chords. Now that is a real must for you.

            Like

          • Well hell Pepp…now I know I won’t get any sleep at night either!!! Thanks!!! Maybe ‘awk will just sit up with me all night drinking coffee, munching on some good O’ homemade pie and playing cards. Coyotes yip yapping outside…good Lord Pepp…thanks so much! 😀

            Like

          • Dave,

            Not to worry. You and Hawk will be up all night playing poker and eating pies, drinking coffee. The Hawk loves to do that.

            As far as the coyotes you just might hear them anyway, they pass by several times a night. And if it’s a nice spring night we’ll have the windows open. It really is something you must hear. 😀

            Like

      • Susie Owens said:

        Well you said earlier you love dogs. Dogs know this and I am sure Merlin will sense you are a good man

        Like

  2. Susie Owens said:

    Yes we did It was the best time ever I know we both wanted to stay longer . BTW thanks for changing the names I couldn’t remember what you two are called here

    Like

    • Susie,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed yourself even when Lucie and I pulled that little number in Walmart. I saw you leave that area quickly. LOL! Too funny. And then the roadblock coming back home. I was sure it was for us.

      No sweat Susie about the names.

      Like

      • Pepp: Oh, please share the inside joke about
        the “roadblock” coming home from Walmart!
        Sounds funny & I’m intrigued . . .

        Like

        • Elizabeth,

          I had planned on writing a separate story about Purplegimp, Susie and my trip to Walmart and what Lucie aka Purplegimp and I did. Susie got outta of sight of the area. So I’m afraid I’ll have to keep you waiting on that, but you did remind me to write it. Lucie and I thought it was hilarious. I think she’d like me to write about it too. If we were together all the time we’d be in hot water constantly. But since she lives in Israel she does her own pranks there. LMAO!

          Like

          • Pepp: My son & I do plan on visiting Israel
            sometime in the near future, as it’s a place
            we’ve always been dying to see! I can just
            picture the 3 of you pulling some prank &
            laughing uproariously at the reactions of
            others! LOL, ya’ll are too funny & I very
            much look forward to reading about that
            roadblock in a future segment . . .

            Like

        • Elizabeth,

          That will be a wonderful trip and maybe you could meet Lucie aka Purplegimp.
          Now, you would get the treat of your life. You won’t stop laughing at her antics.

          I will write about that incident sometime soon. It was hilarious! I hope others will enjoy it too. Plenty of escapades with the Gimp.

          Like

          • Please do let me know when you be here! Miss Missy and I would love to have some time with you! Unlike Merlin, Miss Missy is a very gentle terrier. Unlike Merlin in breed only. He’s a pussy cat! Dave is just being a wuss. Merlin is the sweetest dog you can find. That wild trip to Walmart is a very funny story. Susie just got a little spooked by the general insanity of the whole thing and decided wisely to get out of “Mazda”(er Dodge!)

            Like

      • Susie Owens said:

        Oh I forgot all about that little number at Wal-Mart LOL

        Like

  3. Pepp, thank you so much my dear for now completely having the shit scared out of me! 🙂

    HOLY COW…Merlin looks like he stands taller than me when he stands up and I’m no midget! He’s looks like a black grizzle bear standing up on his hind legs! What the hell does he weigh?? 250 pounds of nothing but muscle?? Oh yeah…I’ll throw his ball. As far as I frigging can, while I run the opposite way as fast as I can with urine running down my leg! Hell; I didn’t even know sheps got that big! And no thank you very much about ME sticking my hand in his mouth for the ball. It’s pretty tough to play with guitar with one hand and one blood stump.

    I’m sticking to my original plan I told you on the phone the other day. When I come down I’m bringing Merlin a big ass pig as a tribute and he can chow down on all the pork he wants!!!!

    Like

    • Dave,

      Oh, you are welcome but I thought it would make you feel better! ROTFLMAO!

      Yes, Merlin does stand taller than you. He stands taller than the Hawk so I’m sure of it.

      You’ve got me laughing so hard with the comment I can barely type.

      He does kind of look like a grizzly bear standing up there. I never really though about that.
      He only weighs a mere 110 lbs. He may weigh more than you now that you’re a stick. LOL!

      OMG, the image of you running with urine running down your leg is hilarious. I can’t wait to see that. Bring plenty of fresh undies and jeans. 🙂 We’ll make sure we have plenty of first aid stuff around in case you end up with a bloody stump. Fortunately the hospital is only 7 miles away. And we’d get you to the ER asap. I do believe it would be difficult to play guitar after an injury like that.

      No, I don’t really suggest you stick your hand into Merlin’s jaws. That is something that only I can do or the Hawk. You should see it when I’m trying to brush his teeth.

      Oh, dear, no pigs please. That could actually make things worse, for the pig I mean.

      Like

      • Pepp,

        Really a great post. You have a wonderful knack for sarcastic humor! I’ve never seen 110lbs of nothing but muscle before. It’s very…uh…very….well…SCARY AS HELL IS WHAT IT IS!!! 😮

        I’m sure Merlin and I will get along just fine, after the first awkward moments. Like me having to change my Depends a few times and you having to clean up Merlin’s drool off the floor a few times and maybe Ron having to bang part of his cage back in place from Merlin trying to rip it apart to get to me. But besides those few minor issues, I’m sure all will be fine. 🙂

        Like

        • Dave,

          Thanks for the compliment. Yes, I do have a knack with sarcasm. I know you weigh more that 110 lbs, but not by much. Merlin, as strong as he is could drag you for a very long time. Gosh, I hate thinking of the rug burns you’d get. Luckily for you we only have one rug in the living room.

          Ah, yes those first few awkward “hours”. Bring lots of Depends. You had better bring a couple boxes if you are going to stay over night. Plan on it because it’s a long drive up here and back. We wouldn’t want you running out of those things. Now, I told you to bring extra jeans too. And maybe socks if your urine runs down that far and you forgot to wear the Depends.

          Yes, if Merlin wanted to he could easily bust that crate apart to get out. But, we keep him under control. I may have to clean up the floor but no because of Merlin’s drool. But, maybe your blood and urine. That’s OK, Lucie can tell you how good I am at stuff like that. Being a nurse way back in the stone age, is a lucky thing for you. I can handle blood and urine well! 😀

          Like

        • Dave, you really have nothing to worry about. St. Gracie has a knack for taking care of most issues that arise from wearing Depends! I know this from personal experience, the details of which are now and forever will be classified and restricted only to those who there.

          Like

          • Gimp…LMAO! I’ll not press for details, cause I know who you’ve worked for and who you’re friends with!! Nope, Dave will just let this one pass for self preservation reasons…

            Like

    • Dave, of course I notice she doesn’t show pictures with his stealth camo gear or night vision goggles on. Till you pull up to get greeted by Rambo the K-9 at the guard shack to get a full pat down. 🙂 Sure, he looks innocent enough…

      Like

      • Bull, LMFAO!!! Not to be rude or inappropriate to ‘akw; I think I would prefer Pepp to do the pat down. Merlin may give me the Okie Dokie, but I’m afraid there won’t be shit left of me to enjoy the trip down there! 😀

        Like

  4. Donna Rabus said:

    Sorry, I am not a dog lover (our family loves cats!), and I am sure I would be very scared of Merlin.

    Like

    • Silly people! Merlin is a living breathing doll! All he wants from any of us is a little lovin’ Nothing at all to be ascairt of.

      Like

      • purplegimp: I agree that Merlin does look like
        a big, cuddly, over-sized teddy bear & I know
        he will just love to play with Dave & enjoy
        making a new good friend! There is nothing
        at all to be frightened of!

        Like

        • The only thing Dave has to be scared of when visiting Pepperhawk Farm is that I might show up and need a new phone!!!!

          Like

          • LOL, purplegimp, you are hilarious! : – )

            Like

          • Just ask Susie and St. Gracie. It’s such a frightening proposition that ‘awk didn’t go with us, however there is speculation that he stayed at home so there’d be someone available to either bail or break us out! Wise man.

            Like

          • In the end we got away clean! The representatives of several law enforcement agencies were totally confuzzled when confronted with our documents! ‘awk just missed all the fun. Poor Susie was cowering in the back seat. She was sure it was all over us.

            Like

          • Oh please Lucie…I’d love for you to show up when I’m there, but let me know ahead of time if you need a phone and I’ll be glad to bring you a new one and deliver myself! 🙂

            Like

          • Dave,

            You nut, Merlin has the intelligence of a 7 yr. old. I think only Border Collies and Poodles come before a German shepherd in the ranking of their intelligence. But, Dakota was just as smart as Merlin. They rank high too, Corgis.

            Like

          • Lucie,

            It would a blast if you showed up too for fun at Pepperhawk Farm to watch Dave and making sure he has clean Depends on hand at all times. Now, don’t tell too much of that story. I’m going to write that next and post it since Elizbeth is dying to know what we did. LMAO1

            Like

          • Susie Owens said:

            Franne I was planning my revenge and working on my innocent look

            Like

        • Elizabeth,

          Your are so right. Nothing to be afraid of with Merlin. Dave says he loves dogs so Merlin should sense that right away. He’s fine with my grand children too. The kids love petting him thru his crate and I can see his eyes dripping with love from the attention.

          Like

          • Dave, the fun is in going to get the replacement phone! As you will soon know, unless St. Gracie has already told told you about it. Stop worrying about Merlin. He really is a total sweetheart and will know immediately that you are his friend. The only time he has to think about it is when he’s deciding just how he wants to handle(dog handle) a bad guy. You’ll be just fine.

            Like

          • Gimp, Gracie did tell me all about it and I laughed my ass off until I almost passed out! I did feel sorry for Susie though. I’d paid good money to have been with you all on that trip. I’m sure Merlin will be fine once he gets the sense of my true nature, but I may need a little of that smooth KY shine to get my nerves through the first five minutes or so…

            Like

        • Susie Owens said:

          Pat

          Border Collie are the smartest dog in the world and very protected and they herd I had a friend who own a Border Collie name Oreo who herded her little three year old if she got out of the yard but never bit her

          Like

          • Susie,

            I know. Border Collies are genius dogs. I see your friend made good use of his herding abilities.

            Dakota was a herding breed too. He made sure everyone did not get up and stayed put in their chairs. If they moved he herded them nipping their heels like corgis do cows when herding.

            Like

        • Elizabeth: “bear & I know
          he will just love to play with Dave & enjoy
          making a new good friend! ”

          Or…he’ll make a nice rag doll out of Dave and bury him behind the barn for a rainy day. 🙂

          Like

      • Gimp,

        That is absolutely true, Merlin is a lover!

        Like

      • Susie Owens said:

        I am a witness to that He’s a great big teddy bear and I love him

        Like

    • Donna: We’ve always had both dogs & cats &
      never a problem w/them getting along with each
      other. In fact, the dogs usually “watch out” for the
      cats & if I catch any of them misbehaving, I remind
      them that they are brothers & sisters & should all
      get along & “play nice together” LOL. I’m just an
      animal lover, period & we’ve always had a variety
      of pets–everything from fish to a spiny-nosed mouse
      (picture a miniature hedgehog) & even hermit crabs,
      in addition to the more ‘mundane’ dogs & cats!

      Like

      • Elizabeth,

        When I had Dakota as a pup he joined my family of me and my cat Tosca. They got along so great. Tosca loved the company and they would chase one another around in the house.
        They were like Odie and Garfield actually. Tosca was good at getting Dakota into trouble. She was evil sometimes like that. She taught him how to play in the toilet. One night the two were so quiet I figured something was up. For sure it was. There was the two of them splashing water around from the toilet having a ball. When Tosca saw me she ran like a scalded cat. She knew what she was doing. LOL!

        Like

      • Susie Owens said:

        Hi Donna and everyone else

        We have two dogs and two cats and they love each other. Let me tell you about a stray cat and little dog. They were both abandon by their own. The cat we name Bell and we feed her and let her come in at night from the cold if she wants to. The dog was name Sally by a kind soul who took her in. But before that Sally and Bell were alone so Bell protected Sally from other dogs and whenever food was left out she always made sure Sally got to eat first . Bell seem to know that Sally was staving and need the food and Sally always left some food for Bell It was like they knew that they needed each other. Now Bell is alone again but she comes to us for love and food . I hope someday my mom gives in and we can her. She a calico

        Like

    • Donna,

      I imagine those pics of Merlin didn’t help your love of dogs. LOL! Cats are good too. We have Princess Zima.

      Like

  5. willibeaux said:

    No sweat ‘rave. The SPOOK has trained Merlin (a genuine ugger lagger) to only bite on command. I’m convinced that neither Mrs. Pepper’awk nor the ‘awk would ever give that command to bite a fellow patriot.

    ‘oohrah! 😉

    Like

  6. Dave,be GLAD that Pepp and the Hawk have a big boy like Merlin. He’s cool. I’d be MORE concerned if they had a nasty yappin’ ankle biter,like a damn Chihuahua,or a Yorkie,or a Shit-Zhu,or some of those “designer” breeds that ain’t got enough sense to come in out of the rain. I’ll close with a true story about one of my Golden Retrievers. Buster is the bigger of the two true brothers we have. He weighs about 122 lbs. now. Barney is about 105 lbs.,they are 5 years old. Well,the place we stay at here in Florida has two dog park areas,a large one that is about 2 acres,and one that’s about a half-acre.We had decided to go to the bigger park one day,Buster is a very gentle dog,never a problem except with unneutered males larger than he. Well,this damnable Yorkie mix,about the size of Buster’s head,kept coming up where Bus was laying,and would bite him on his back leg,then the little bastard would run off to his “mom”,who said “oh,isn’t that cute.He’s nipping at that big dog”. Well,the 4th time the little frigger came up,Bus was ready.He grabbed the Yorkie by the head,with his ass sticking out of Bus’ mouth. He took the Yorkie over to his HORRIFIED “mom”,who was shreiking hysterically, that that BRUTE was eating her precious doggie. I got to Bus,told him to release,which being well-trained,he did. I handed the little bastard,who,unfortunately,was fine, to her,and said “next time he bugs Buster,I’ll let him finish the job”. She said,very nastily, “I’ll never be here again”. “Not with such a beast as him”. Well,as she stormed off,most of the others in the dog park started clapping and cheering at her departure. Seems this particular “lady” and this dog were MOST despised. The dog for being a mean little shit,and HER for allowing it to be. Haven’t seen her,or the little bastard since.

    Like

  7. Great pics, Pepp. Dave, you need to have eyes in the back of your head. 🙂

    Like

  8. clyde,

    That IS one hilarious story about Buster. Good for him!

    Like

  9. To everyone,

    I hope you’ve had as much fun with this post as I have. You all have made great comments and I haven’t laughed this much in I can’t tell you how long! Well, actually I can…it’s been 7.5 months ago (when my Dad got diagnosed with cancer), but I’ve had a ball with this post! Thank you so much Pepp for bringing laughter into my laugh when I most needed it!!!!

    Like

  10. Dave,

    You’re quite welcome. Anytime!

    Like

  11. Thanks to everyone who came on here with your terrific and funny remarks. I’ve had so much fun too.

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

