Wicked Commentary

There are always two sides of a story.  We see some young people in this country who are out protesting.  Take the OWS for example.  They protest against the so called 1%.  Yet, they have blackberries, laptops, smart phones. They are not hurting in any way except in getting a job perhaps.  Yet it really does not seem that is what they are about, getting a job. I imagine they consider themselves fearless and brave when they break windows and defecate on our flag, spit in cops faces, and keep people from getting to their jobs. 

The other side to the story about our young people are those who serve our country.  These young men and women do have courage, bravery, honor, and give to this country the biggest sacrifice ever asked of anyone.  We don’t see them on the daily news.  We don’t hear their stories for the most part.  The media seems to have little interest in them.  Our government does not want us to see or know the horrors of what these men go through because then we would never have any wars.

They are not out protesting with their smart phones and laptops. They are our  military.  They give up their comforts, their families, their limbs, and their lives going into battles for America. This is true honor. This is true deprivation.  This is true courage and bravery.

We salute these men and women, those who are in battles right now, those who are home safe, those who are maimed, those who have given their lives.  God bless them, their families, and America.  And God help us all.

So let’s take a look at this other side of the story, our soldiers and what it is really like for them:

Grizzly battles and grizzly scenes of those alive and those dying. These are parts of war the media does not want us to see as does our government who sent them into battle.

These men are brothers in war tending to the injured always.

For our military these are scenes out of their lives everyday.

This picture was not allowed to be shown in the media. Photograph by Maya Alleruzzo from the slide show “Scenes from the Surge” at her website. You can see why this kind of scene is kept from us. This is war and we are told it is necessary. Is this necessary? 

It is important that his mother hugs him because who else will do so now?   Only his mother who loves him unconditionally.

Thanks to all the nurses who care for these injured warriors.

More than 300,000 US troops have suffered a traumatic brain injury (TBI) in the current wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and these findings offer new hopes for treating veterans wounded by explosive devices and grenades.

True sacrifice

How many times does this service take place?  Does anyone know?

Quietly these funerals go on all the time. But, we don’t see them or hear about them.  This is the life of the military. Death is part of it.

Families are barely given a thought.  Yet they suffer pain and agony over their loved one who died in war.

True caring and honor

Day is done, gone the sun
From the lakes, from the hills, from the sky
All is well, safely rest
God is nigh.
Fading light dims the sight
And a star gems the sky, gleaming bright
From afar, drawing near
Falls the night.
Thanks and praise for our days
Neath the sun, neath the stars, neath the sky
As we go, this we know
God is nigh.

Taps written by Horace Lorenzo Trim


http://www.smartplanet.com/blog/rethinking-healthcare/blast-simulation-reveals-how-explosions-hurt-the-brain/5894

http://www.propublica.org/series/disposable-army

blogs.reuters.com

http://cryptome.org/info/afpak-archive/afpak-archive-05.htm

Comments on: "Remembering The Fallen by Peppermint and Goshawk" (54)

  1. Gar Swaffar said:

    Those who gave it all and those who gave enough to know what it means deserve all the honor we can muster up.

    Like

    • Gar,

      And I can’t think of anyone other than our military and what they endure to apply the word, “deserving of our honor”.

      Like

      • So very true, Pepperhawk! None deserve the
        level of respect & honor than do our American
        Warriors–wherever they happen to be!!

        Like

        • Elizabeth,

          Yes, all of our military deserve so much more than what is given. They give so much and we give so little.

          Like

          • Pepp: You are absolutely correct & that is
            why my son & I go out of our way to try &
            thank one of America’s Warriors, whether
            past, present or future, however & where-
            ever we happen to encounter them! They
            deserve so much more–especially those
            who returned from Vietnam to encounter
            the level of derision & venom that was
            meted out by those on the left!! That still
            makes my blood boil when I think of it!

            Like

            • Elizabeth,

              You’re a great patriot for all of your giving to our vets. When my son was alive he constantly sent care packages to the troops. I was proud of him for thinking of them so much.
              As far as Vietnam I’m hoping some day it’s no longer a dirty word. And we do have the Wall now for the vets who died. My uncle is somewhere on the wall. I wish I could get up to Washington and back to Arlington again. It’s been a moon since I’ve been there.

              Like

    • Amen to that, Gar! We owe an eternal debt of gratitude to all
      whose bravery & courageous service have secured the free-
      dom & liberty that we all cherish!

      Like

      • Elizabeth,

        Very good way of putting it. An eternal debt of gratitude for all they have done for us and our country.

        Like

        • Pepp: Thank you, kindly! It seems the only
          ones who don’t feel this way are those con-
          firmed leftists–the ones who seem to think
          their freedom comes simply by virtue of wak-
          ing up in America ever day, the useful idiots!

          Like

  2. Amen to that.

    Like

    • Lucie,

      Thanks for coming by for Memorial Day. Besides the military, I can’t think of another country so deserving of our support, Israel.

      Like

      • Considering that I grew up in a Navy town, how could I not? They are heroes and each and every one of them deserves our respect.

        Like

        • Lucie,

          I forgot you were a Navy groupie besides all the other things you are. 😀
          Yes, they are heroes and we shall never forget. At least those of us who care.
          Respect absolutely!

          Like

          • Not exactly a Navy groupy. My heart belongs to the USMC. Ok ok, technically they are part of the Navy Oooorah.
            But all our service people deserve the very best we can do for them.

            Like

        • Lucie,

          Yeah, my heart belongs to the USMC too, but all our branches of military do deserve our best and our greatest thanks for all they do. Little towns like ours still have ceremonies and parades. It’s a shame that many places no longer have these events.

          And the Hawk just told me that the Deviant in the WH made a statement about our troops and what we need to do for them, therefore it’s important that they have Obamacare available. Is there no bar too low for him to go? He doesn’t give a damn about the military, all that statement was about was him and his crappy program and another shot across the bow of the SCOTUS. What a mockery he makes of Memorial Day. I dare say I almost puked.

          Like

          • Our wonderful CIC, never miss an opportunity
            to exploit those to whom you should be paying
            homage & never, ever let a photo op go to waste!
            What a crock of BS!! God Bless all our American
            Warriors, without whose bravery, sacrifice & cour-
            ageous service our freedoms & liberties would be
            non existent!

            Like

          • Pepp,

            The sumbitch is worse than what I scrape off the bottom of my boots after I walk through a cow pastor.

            Like

          • Elizabeth,

            That’s right the Fraud never misses an opportunity to make a political statement for himself. The troops were just used by him. That is all it amounted to for that Deviant.

            Like

          • Dave,

            I would have to say that what comes out of cow pastures is more useful than him. At least it serves a good purpose.

            Like

          • St. Gracie,
            You might have almost puked, but our neighborhood resounded with my yells of N****r Alert every single time he appeared on the screen to deliver his Memorial Day campaign speech.

            Like

            • Lucie,

              :-D. I don’t doubt for a single moment what you yelled. I think there are some people here in the states who may have been doing the same thing over his Memorial Day “campaign” speech. I, Me, Myself. A crazed and psychopathic narcissist.

              Like

  3. Taps:

    Day is done, gone the sun
    From the lakes, from the hills, from the sky
    All is well, safely rest
    God is nigh.
    Fading light dims the sight
    And a star gems the sky, gleaming bright
    From afar, drawing near
    Falls the night.
    Thanks and praise for our days
    Neath the sun, neath the stars, neath the sky
    As we go, this we know
    God is nigh.

    Like

  4. In honor of all the beloved Marines in my family those who were killed and those who are alive. Semper Fi et deo benedicam eis.

    Like

  5. Pepp & Goshawk,

    Very nice. The piece was really good.

    Like

  6. Great post for the day. Idiots like Chris Hayes,Obama,the vast majority of the left, never have,and never will, get it. To the left,the military is something to loathe,due to most of them never being taught what SERVICE is all about.

    Like

    • clyde,

      Thanks. I like to have a tribute up for these kinds of days where we remember our troops. We should honor them everyday and pray for them.
      The left is a POS. The things they say about our troops sickens me. I try never to read any of that. I recall reading some stuff on Gunny’s blog one time. It made me livid.

      Like

  7. The massive sacrifice is so humbling. The massive ignorance of today’s generation is unspeakable. For all those who are serving and have served it is an honor to fly our flag today in remembrance, reverence and honor.

    On a side note, yesterday I was doing some more genealogy research and found out that hubby’s 5 times great grandfather, a German immigrant to England and then an immigrant to America fought with the Americans along with his son who was a Capt. in the Colonial army. Knowing this gives us such a deep connection with the beginning of the great American experiment.

    I pray we don’t lose what so many have sacrificed for!

    Like

    • flyoverhere: Wow!! What a proud lineage & amazing
      historical link to your American heritage!! Thanks to
      the service of that man & his son, your hubby’s dis-
      tant relatives, America was finally able to proclaim
      her Independence from beneath the shackles of
      British rule!! Thanks so much for sharing that with
      all of us & God Bless your family for their service!

      Like

    • FOH,

      Yes it is a massive sacrifice and that’s what I wanted to get across, how much sacrifice there really is going on. And it goes on everyday for our military while we sit comfortably in our houses.

      That is very interesting about your lineage. What a nice discovery to know you are so closely attached to our beginning as a country.

      Like

  8. Pepp,

    What a great tribute to our military. Those men and women who have fought and are still fighting for our freedom deserve to be honored every day not just today, but especially today. May God bless them all.

    Like

    • Dogged: So very true!! I agree 100% & I pledge
      to do more on a daily basis to remember & pay
      tribute to our troops in recognition of the debt
      of gratitude I owe them & in honor of all they
      have done for us!

      Like

    • Dogged,

      Thanks. Yes they deserve so much more than we give them. No amount of honor could be enough. How do you make up for these sacrifices?

      Like

  9. There is another aspect of honoring our military that I am thankful for today. That is that we, as a country, have won a battle for our military. No too many years ago, our young people were demonstrating and rioting “against the war(s)” and by association, our military. I remember how our veterans returning from Korea and Viet Nam were reviled and spat upon. There was little “honoring” going on in those days. I can only imagine how those returning vets felt to see so many for whom they fought treating them with contempt and hatred. Thank God those days are gone. Yet there are still too many citizens who refuse to accept the reality that without the sacrifice of our military, we would not be free.

    And a final note: although our military men and women die and are maimed in our service, they knew and accepted the reality that those things could happen – and yet, they did their duty and accepted the consequences. My heartfelt sorrow is for the families of those who paid the ultimate price as well as those who were grievously injured. They didn’t sign up for the death of a spouse, mother or father, son or daughter, yet there it is and they will have to deal with it for the rest of their lives. In that respect, it is probably easier for the fallen soldier than for those left behind. It is so sad.

    Like

    • Garnet,

      How true what you say. My brother was one of those who fought in Vietnam only to come home to be spat on and called a baby killer. To this day he still does not like to talk about it. I know it must have hurt him so bad. I despise those people who did that to our soldiers. What did they know about anything? Hanoi Jane and Kerry, a senator of all things for his treason and lying about our troops. I can’t stand to look at either of these scum.

      Every scum bag in our town wanted to challenge my brother to a fight. My brother being a Marine always left the other guy in worse shape than he after a fight. Pretty dumb to pick on a Marine.

      We also lost my uncle in Vietnam. He was burned to death. Funeral was in Arlington with the full military service. Haunting to this day.

      What you said in your second paragraph is so true. The families never asked for any of this, but they stand by their family member’s decision to go fight. I know that the 13 months my brother was gone in Vietnam it was one of the worst years of my life. I lived in terror every day as I watched body bags on TV being hauled into vehicles. It’s the kind of stuff that gives a person nightmares.

      But, thankfully my brother came back alive.

      Like

  10. Pepp,

    Excellent post! They certainly deserve all the gratitude, respect and honor we can bestow upon them. They are our finest citizens!

    Like

  11. Pepp-
    As soon as I saw the words, “day is done” I got goosebumps. We had a flag Retirement ceremony on Mother’s Day Saturday at my Legion Post. We have one of the HS Band members come and play Taps. Old Glory gone to rest with all of her fallen.

    Like

    • Nee,

      Thanks for coming over. Have not seen you for awhile. Yes, the whole of Taps gives me goosebumps each and every time I hear it. So I get you did feel that.

      That Retirement ceremony sounds very sad. I can’t go through one of those kinds of ceremonies without crying my eyes out. When Taps starts to play I’m done in. Probably silly but I can’t seem to help myself. It there any piece of music more haunting and sad than the playing of Taps?

      Like

      • Pepp:Certain things bring tears to my eyes as
        well & seeing all those rows upon rows of head
        stones in Arlington Cemetery, along with the
        playing of “Taps” get me, as well–although to
        the best of my knowledge we have been very
        fortunate not to have lost a member of our fa-
        mily since the Civil War. Isn’t that strange? I
        like to believe that it’s out of respect to those
        who have made the ultimate sacrifice for my
        freedom & liberty!!

        Like

        • The view the whole of Arlington as one huge holy ground. It gives you a haunted feeling and a sad one besides. I’m glad you’ve not lost anyone in the wars. Our family has had our share, not only with one uncle being killed but with all the PTSD involved in coming back from those wars. But, there are very strong men in my family and they just kept trucking on.

          Like

  12. willibeaux said:

    Mrs. Pepper’awk! This a beautiful tribute to our fallen heros. Thank you.

    Remembering the sacrifices made by our fallen heroes. HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY!!
    This is to all patriotic Americans who appreciate their sacrifices.

    ‘ooRah! 😉

    Like

    • Willibeaux,

      Thanks. And may I give my thanks to you, a veteran of Korea? Both you and Hawk.
      I know you appreciate the sacrifices as do all of those who have been there and know what it’s like.
      HooRah!

      Like

    • Willibeaux: I second Pepp’s assertion & wish to add my
      heartfelt thanks as well, to both you and Hawk for both
      veterans of Korea on this site!! Ya’ll were out firing the
      opening rounds against the pernicious evil that was
      Communism, as it began to rear its ugly head, following
      the end of WW2 & we thank both of you for all your
      bravery & the courageous service rendered on behalf
      of a grateful nation!!

      Like

  13. willibeaux said:

    Mrs. Pepper’awk and the ‘awk! When I was part of the All Veterans Honor Guard providing military honors for deceased vets, the most difficult part for the families came with the first volley of the rifle squad. That’s when the tears started. On the first note of taps, the grief intensified.

    Presenting the folded flag to the next of kin was difficult for me when I had the honor of doing it.

    I was part of the Guard for 12 years until health problems forced me to retire. It was very fulfilling for me to be part of the honors.

    Like

    • Willibeaux,

      You are very brave and big hearted to do all the things you have done for the vets. I’m sorry your health keeps you from doing these things as I know you loved it being the patriotic person you are. Also caring and loving person.

      I only went through that ceremony once, during my uncle’s funeral. I cried at taps, I cried when the flag was given to my aunt, and during the 21 gun salute. For some reason there were also jets that flew over in honor of my uncle. They came and tipped their wings. It was awesome, the whole ceremony. But very hard on the emotions. Like I said to this day I can’t hear taps without crying. I also can’t hear our National Anthem without tears in my eyes.

      I know it was very fulfilling for you to be an Honor guard all those years and thanks to you for all you did. You’re a gem.

      Like

  14. Pepp, beautiful job! The pictures are so sad and hard to see. I love our military so much. Ray and I went to a Memorial Day service in memory of our two fallen Heroes – one a 19 year old Marine and a 23 year old Soldier who were killed in Afghanistan within 6 months of each other. So sad.

    Like

    • Hi Donna,

      Thanks. I tried.
      I figured you and your hubby would be at a ceremony today. You two are true patriots. And yes, it’s all so sad.

      Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

