Wicked Commentary

I sent an email a couple weeks ago asking Rand Paul why FEMA camps have 40 caliber ammo and guns in the FEMA camps.  I thought I’d not get a response but I did finally.  I figured it was probably not one of the usual letters which has form replies to them so that is why it took Rand to get back to me on this.

So, I’m copying the letter on here for all to see just what he said about our government. The highlighting and coloration I inserted for definition of Rand’s views.  Rand is one of the few Republicans who stands up for our rights under the Constitution.  He must be a very lonely man in the Senate. When the NDAA was passed in the Senate Rand Paul voted against it along with Republican Mike Lee and Mark Kirk.  4 Democrats voted against it also.  Only 7 Senators had the courage to stand up for our rights under the Constitution.  This in itself I find very disturbing.

He did not however actually answer my question about the guns and ammo.  I have heard him speak on TV though that he is very disturbed about the government thinking that they can confiscate food and ammo from citizens and call them terrorists.   Rand completely disagrees with this policy.  I have the notion that the issue of 40 caliber ammo and guns is under the shroud of secrecy about which Rand speaks.  He himself probably does not know what the ammo and guns are for.  He probably has his suspicions but won’t say unless he has full knowledge from the DHS which apparently is trying to keep things hush hush.

May 7, 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Goodwin,

Thank you for contacting me regarding the Department of Homeland Security’s recent ammunition purchase. I appreciate hearing your thoughts on this issue.

Since the creation of DHS in 2002, its size and scope has grown exponentially, and its policies invade Americans’ privacy on a daily basis. In addition to its use of invasive full-body scanners and pat-downs at airports, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has started deploying new Visible Intermodal Prevention and Response (VIPR) teams to patrol and perform random inspections at transportation facilities in major cities and along interstate highways.

DHS also maintains over 70 fusion centers around the nation for the collection and sharing of intelligence related to potential terrorist threats. The fusion centers are shrouded in secrecy and are subject to little oversight or no transparency.

Reports issued by some of the fusion centers have warned that the possession of “Don’t Tread on Me” flags, third-party or independent political paraphernalia, and the purchase of meals ready-to-eat (MREs) or other surplus military goods are warning signs of potential extremism and radicalization.

I do not believe that the federal government should be profiling its citizens on the basis of legal purchases or the exercise of constitutionally protected speech.

I also do not believe that protecting Americans from the threat of terrorism involves a unilateral sacrifice of privacy and first amendment rights. Rest assured I will continue to hold DHS responsible for its actions and fight for national security policies that protect our civil liberties.

Once more, thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance in the future. I look forward to hearing from you again.

Sincerely,

Rand Paul, MD
United States Senator

If anyone is interested in what “fusion centers” are you can Google it and come up with many web sites with information pertaining to fusion centers. I found several PDF files on them but they are difficult to read.  I guess you have to be an attorney.  Either that or I’m brain dead.




Comments on: "Senator Rand Paul’s Reply by Peppermint" (4)

  1. At least he took the time to respond. Got ONE note back from Stabenow. Pretty much dismissed my concerns about this. I wrote her back,saying she could rest assured I would be out working TIRELESSLY( believe me,I’ve run over 100 hours at a time before sleeping MANY times while running my truck) for whomever goes up against her here in Michigan in November. Haven’t heard back yet. Good thing I ain’t holding my breath.

    Like

    • Good for you clyde working to get out that woman. She sounds like a real loser. Yes, at least Rand answered my email but he avoided the question about the guns at FEMA camps. I don’t know what to think about that. I do know that he does work to keep our liberties but it’s a tough place in that damn senate for him.

      No I wouldn’t hold your breath either. She’ll never answer to that one.

      Like

  2. Davetherave said:

    Thanks for sharing Pepp! Rand is a good guy trying to do the best he can and that makes a grand total of about maybe three Senators. And Mitchtheswitch is not one of them that ass…

    Some good news on the Senate front though. That lousy ass Lugar from IN got his as whipped in the primary, so we’ll be saying see ya’ bye to the anti gun owning bastard!

    Like

  3. Glad that Rand responded to your email. It is a real concern as to why he did not answer your questions regarding FEMA camps and the guns and ammo. I am sure he as a Senator would have to know about that, but perhaps they have been threatened to keep quiet in regards to that.

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

