Wicked Commentary

Dogs and Cats by Peppermint

Some people might think dogs and cats don’t get along.  But, I don’t find that to be true in all cases.   My Welsh Corgi and my former cat, Tosca, got along just great.

When I brought Dakota home when he was just a pup of 11 weeks old,  my cat Tosca loved it.  It was something she could play with,  help Dakota get into mischief, and tease him.  None of these things did Dakota mind at all.

In the beginning we all know dogs love to chew.  Shoes were Dakota’s favorite thing to chew on.  So, (and I know this sounds terrible) but I would put my shoes up on the kitchen table so Dakota could not get to them.  One night things were too quiet as both Dakota and Tosca performed this little pact that while they did mischievous things, there was no sound from either of them.

While I was on my computer, one night things were too quiet.  I got up to look around to see what the two of them were up to.  Tosca was on top of the kitchen table shoving one of my shoes off of it where Dakota stood underneath waiting for that shoe to fall so he could chew on it.  I could not believe my eyes as Tosca seemed to know he  wanted a shoe and she was going to make sure he got a pair of my good work shoes.

Another night, while all was quiet on the front, I found both playing in the toilet.  Tosca was on the toilet seat dipping her paws in the water and tossing it on Dakota. I watched since neither one of them saw me.  Soon, Dakota was up on the toilet seat dipping his paws into the toilet and splashing toilet water on Tosca.  Oh, what fun those two were having.

I used to think of them as Garfield and Odie because Tosca was always trying to get Dakota in trouble.  Once I found them doing their funny deeds Tosca would run off and hide.   As if I didn’t know what she was up to with Dakota.

They defended their territory behind my condo too.  If another animal tried to come into the area behind my condo, the two of them joined forces to run off the stray dog or cat.  Now that was a funny sight to watch also.

There is nothing like having pets around to keep you entertained and on the alert constantly especially when they are puppies or kittens.  When they grow older, if you treat them well, their loyalty to you never fades.  More persons should be like dogs and cats.  We would get along better for it.

If you have a good dog or cat story to tell, now it’s your turn to tell us.

Comments on: "Dogs and Cats by Peppermint" (19)

  1. Hey, Pepp, the pics are priceless and so are your tales (or is that tails?). No clue if this is a “good one” or not but here goes … years ago had a golden retriever, papered of course. She was a sweetie. Named her Feather Ann Marie (seemed to fit her). OF course she was taken immediately to the vet for a check-up, shots,etc and then there was the license that needed to be purchased (County, I believe).

    Well wouldn’t you know it … whatever bureaucrat was handling issuing pooch licenses that day messed up. Imagine our shock when we opened the envelope and had a license all right … registered in the name of “Leather Arms.” EGADS.

    Like

  2. privbullright said:

    Pepp,

    Great pictures. Funny how thye can get along and feed off each other.

    Like

  3. privbullright said:

    We once left our Shar pei at the vets over night. When we came back the vet said that dog is a “neurotic psycho bitch”. All of which might have been technically true, but we thought he was joking around. So my wife said that’s my girl. He said no, I mean she chewed out of the steel cage in the kennel and then got out the door. Once out she ran around the building and set off the lights and the alarm. He was called around 2 am, came down to be greeted by find the sheriff department a cop and the fire company and her running around with all the dogs barking. We just paid him, thanked him, got in the car and laughed all the way home with her staring at us from the back panting away. Boy was she glad to see us.

    Like

    • bull,

      LMAO! I bet your dog wasn’t the only one glad you see you all got back…. 🙂

      Like

      • privbullright said:

        Dave,
        Yea, you got that right. I haven’t been back to that vet for a while, though that dog is gone now. But I won’t bother reminding him when I do, I’ll just chuckle to myself.

        Like

    • Chewed out of a steel cage?!? Remind me never, ever, to get between a Shar pei and anything he/she/it wants!!!

      😉

      Like

      • privbullright said:

        Ha ha. Great dogs. 🙂 I’m not sure how tough the steel cage was, but I had seen what she did to steel handled mops, cutting her mouth in the process. The mop was by the door. I think she was claustrophobic . If we put her in another room with the door closed that was it. I didn’t plan on that with the vet. She was very good aside from the phobia.

        Like

  4. Pepp,

    Loved the pics and great stories about Dakota and Tosca…like Corgi’s need help being mischievous. 🙂

    I reckon my favorite story is when my boy was just about 5 years old and he had his first dog that was a black lab; he named her Blackdog…very creative thinking! We were out back one fall day and I was raking up leaves from the two big trees I had. Of course Michael and Blackdog was playing around as usual and labs are so great with kids that I really didn’t need to keep a close eye on them. All the sudden my boy lets out a blood curdling scream that puts me in attack mode immediately. I look over and Blackdog and he were playing in a big pile of leaves I’d raked up. Labs have big O’ mouths and with Michael being only 5; he didn’t have that big of head yet. Blackdog had his whole head in mouth with drool just pouring down his face. He was scared to death, but I knew Blackdog was only playing and would never hurt Michael. I still rushed over to him right away and told Blackdog, “Get my boys head outta your mouth Blackdog.” I swear the dog understood English as she did exactly what I told her as soon as I told her. Well poor Michael’s entire head was covered in dog drool (labs drool really badly) and was scared to death. I reckon he thought Blackdog was going to eat him. I got the boy calmed down and explained to him about labs and that Blackdog would never initially hurt him. I took him in side and got him washed up, but my boy was a con artist even at age 5, so to overcome his trauma he made me take him to McDonald’s for burger, fries and shake to get over his traumatic experience. I think I got shafted on having to buy him a happy meal, but it is a memory I’ll never forget.

    Like

  5. Gar Swaffar said:

    Great stories Pepp, Mine was Harley, a Golden/Collie/Rescue cross. Raised him with my two boys from when they were 10 & 11 yrs old. And he became our Dr. Dog after moving to the woods. Living in the middle of nothing where a trip to the store was a half day trip.
    With so many critters around, the cats would get into trouble rather regularly and come in a bit worse off than the foxes, coons or bobcats they had been playing with.

    Harley was the M.D. of the day though. He would find which ever cat, goat or chicken needed attention and several times a day he’d find them and hold ’em down and clean the wounds until it was spotless.
    We never lost a cat, rabbit, goat, or chicken to infections. He made it to the ripe old age of 15 after a fairly hard life living in the woods for 13 of those years and passed quietly in my wife’s lap while I was at work.
    She and both my grown sons cried a lot that day. Men don’t cry, so I simply had watery eyes from my allergies.

    And it was always easy to find the cats in the winter, all I had to do was look for Harley and there would be half a dozen cats bundled up with him, all of them keeping each other warm.

    Like

    • Gar,

      Awesome story! I got hit with those damn allergies myself when my 14 year old lab had to be put down due to cancer. Of course there are all kinds of allergies in KY….

      Like

    • privbullright said:

      Gar,
      That was a great story. Why do rescues seem like some of the best dogs? Maybe it”s trying to repay you, I dunno.

      Like

      • Gar Swaffar said:

        I’m not sure why the rescue dogs seem to work out so well, except that they tend to be mixed breeds. I have pondered in the past whether or not some breeds are being overly inbred to the point that the breed will always have ‘issues’.

        Like

  6. I have always had a dog, never a cat. First, I’m allergic to cat dander . . . a lot.
    Second, I’ve owned dogs and been their masters. No one owns a cat. Cats own people. No one is a cat’s master. people are cats’ employees.

    Like

  7. Mrs. Pepper’awk! Check your e-mail.

    ‘ooRah! 😉

    Like

  8. Great pics & story, Pep! Personally, I think that, like children, dogs and cats will respond to how they are trained. Refuse to allow sibling rivalry and it won’t happen (personal experience: my two daughters are the best of friends to date and mutually support each other in their music [they are professional classical musicians] making to an extent that many find amazing). Refuse to allow a dog to chase a cat and they will get along (although it helps to start early on both).

    Like

  9. I really enjoyed this Pepp and the pictures are so cute! I have not heard from you lately – I pray that you are doing alright. Please let me know. Donna

    Like

  10. privbullright said:

    I came across this video. You gotta have a look.
    http://www.dogwork.com/ddsff4/
    Best in full screen.

    Like

We welcome all comments, opinions, rants, raves, and humor too

